“Quest” & “That Treat You Want” #Haiku

haiku, poem, poetry, fantasy, E Rawls

Haiku for RonovanWrites Weekly Haiku Challenge–a fun activity and contest that is open for everyone to participate, and helps keep our creative writer’s mind active! This week’s words are: Rein & Quest.

“Quest”
Energy reined in
She prepares for the grim quest,
Skull Island ahead.
~
“That Treat You Want”
Such a cruel quest
He bought lettuce, not ice cream
Desire reined in.

© 2016 E. E. Rawls and Rawls E. Fantasy

Monday will be another installment of #weeklysmile, along with more posts this week. Don’t forget to click the “Follow” button to be notified of future blog posts!

Subscribe to the free Newsletter 🙂

How to read a haiku as 2 separate sentences:
Energy reined in, She prepares for the grim quest,
She prepares for the grim quest, Skull Island ahead.

Join the e-mail list to get book news and exclusives.
Goodreads Facebook / Tumblr / Google+ / Twitter

~~~

Bleeding_Heart_Cover_for_Kindle

Fantasy-flavored poems, imaginative short stories, and tricky riddles: AMAZON  GOODREADS  B&N  SMASHWORDS
~~~

15 thoughts on ““Quest” & “That Treat You Want” #Haiku

  1. Skull island… that sounds scary! The mood in the first one was captured really well. The last line was shiver-worthy. And the second made me smile. Ice cream is much better than lettuce, though it does have its place.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know that second one all too well. I’ve been craving ice cream like crazy since it first got warm last week. So, that battle to balance healthy with not-so-healthy, and then caving in to desire… Yup. XD

    The first haiku is well done, too. I read it the way you recommended, and the “second half” hammers in the gloominess and dread that’s sparked in the “first half.” Very nice!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yup. I want my ice cream. Even though I’m lactose intolerant, I will suffer for the delicious taste of it now and then.
      Thanks! Haiku are meant to be read in two parts, but I do try to blend them so it can work as a whole and separate, both. I’m glad I succeeded. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.