Light In The Rain #WeeklySmile

#WeeklySmile is a weekly link-up event hosted by Trent McDonald, with the purpose of spreading smiles and making the week a little brighter.

It was Mother’s Day, and all morning long the sky was drear and overcast. When we came home from church, a break in the clouds finally let blue sky and sunshine through. Glad to see it, me and my mom went outside to our flowerbed near the road, and the instant we got near to see how the plants were doing, a torrent of rain pelted down on us from a single large cloud overhead. We ran (I limped with my still-sore foot 😉 ), shouting in fun, and took cover in the doorway as the beating rain shimmered down with the sunlight.

One of my favorite things is when it’s raining and the sun is still out, making everything shine and glow with new life. It was a simple moment, but this reminded me that in life, when things are dreary or painful, and it feels like everything is raining down around you, there is a ray of sunlight somewhere up there waiting to shine down on you. And when the clouds finally part, you can bath in its warmth and life once more.

Hope, faith, love.

What was your weekly smile?

This Wednesday, May 11, is a special guest post from author Jack Balliot, as part of her tour for her new book Brothers-In-Arms! Drop by the blog as she discusses her research into WWII and what it took to make Brothers-In-Arms.

Don’t forget to click the “Follow” button to be notified of future blog posts!

Become one of my Reader peeps and learn about exciting news and exclusives first!
Social Connect: Goodreads Facebook / Tumblr / Google+ / Twitter

© copyright 2015-2016 E. E. Rawls and Rawls E. Fantasy

(Image credit: from wallpapermania.eu)

19 thoughts on “Light In The Rain #WeeklySmile

  1. That’s a lovely moment to share with your mom on Mother’s Day. 🙂 Did you see any rainbows, too?

    I wish I could think of a weekly smile that’s not writing-oriented… but finishing the edits for Chapter 6 yesterday was very rewarding. That chapter had been a real bear to work on, so I’m glad it’s done now, and happy with how it turned out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • No rainbows, but that would have been extra special, wouldn’t it? 🙂
      I know what you mean. I have to purposefully not make every #weeklysmile writing-oriented or it would be the same every week, lol. 😀 I’m glad to hear your edits are coming along well! I didn’t get much done over the weekend, so I’ll try to make up for that this week! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • It would have been, yes. But that moment already seems special enough the way it was. 🙂

        It’s hard to say whether the edits are “coming along well” when a chapter takes a while to finish. I couldn’t wait to finish Chapter 6, actually – it was giving me a headache! :S But it’s done, and now I’m onto Chapter 7, which is one of my favorites in TKC.

        I’ve no doubt you’ll get right back on yours. 😉 And sometimes we have busy days or weekends when it’s hard to fit in much writing or editing, so I understand. Good luck with things this week!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely story. 🙂 My weekly smile was the weekend, which was sunny and warm, a refreshing change. Of course, it’s back to cool and rainy today, but that’s the Great British weather for you…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It was lightly raining on my way in to work on Monday, but, as with your Sunday, the sun was shining. As I pulled into the parking lot at work i noticed a rainbow over the building. Does that mean it will be a good work week? There is something about the sun turning the rain to gold that makes me smile too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh, it’s been a while since I’ve seen a rainbow. Might mean a good week, possibly? “Sun turning rain to gold” I wish it could be captured on camera, but it’s never the same as physically seeing it. ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful story and beautiful picture! Did you take that?

    Hm… my weekly smile… well, had lots of them last week seeing friends I’ve been missing since we moved 6 months ago. This week has been kind of rough what with traveling, getting back to normal, everyone being attacked by colds and having to take my 19 month old to urgent care last night because we felt that he was struggling too much to breathe normally… but, in spite of that, on the way home (at 11:30pm no less) Brant wanted to wear his sunglasses. That made me smile.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The photo was free wallpaper; I added the credits at the very end. I wish I had a view like that though! And a camera that took great quality like that one. ^_^
      So sorry this week has been rough for you and your family, Jenelle. I’ll pray for you. ❤ That's a sweet moment you mentioned, Brant with his sunglasses. 🙂 It's the little things like that that are special.
      Thank you for sharing, and I hope everyone is feeling better now?

      Like

        • I’m glad to hear they’re on the mend! I know quite a few people who’ve gotten sick these past two months. I wonder if that’s common for spring? Oo, have you shared any photos of your view?

          Like

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.