September Into October #MonthlyUpdate

autumn, fall season, Halloween, pumpkins, witch hat, gourds, sunflowers, colorful leaves, fall leaves, maple, red, orange, yellow, green, spooky, creepy, fun, holidays,

Changes are ahead! But more on that later. I’ve got some great recipes to share with you in this post, along with some of the books and TV series I’ve been going through! September for the most part was good and productive. I wrote more and read more than usual, as I could feel the fall season coming on. There’s something about the changing leaves, and the animals dashing about storing up food, that inspires me to write. Spring is like that, too. The transitional seasons feel more alive, I suppose.

That said, however, this past week has been one of tragedy and sorrow for America. I am still in shock of what happened in Las Vegas, and am deeply saddened. My heart goes out to all of those who have been affected by this horrible, ruthless, senseless shooting. Something needs to change so that attacks like these will be prevented in the future. Change is never easy, but it is necessary, and I feel that now is one of those necessary times.

quotes, henri nouwen, faith, hope, peace, kindness, heaven, life quotes, famous quotes, life,

~

What Books I Read

Shadow and Bone, Grisha trilogy, Leigh Bardugo, grishaverse,

I’m still working my way through the Assassin’s Apprentice,  Courage: Fighting Fear With Fear, and now I’ve added Shadow and Bone to the list! Yep, I’m jumping between books like a Mad Hatter, and that’s why it’s taking me so long to finish them. But I can’t help myself. 😛

Latest reviews on Goodreads are: Memories of Ash, and Six of Crows.

You can follow my progress on Goodreads HERE or click the titles above to read my reviews.

What I’m Writing

It was a great month for writing, despite that Strayborn is still on the sidelines getting bits of revisions, as I mentioned in the last Monthly Updates post.

A few days ago I finished the prequel novella to Strayborn’s series, so yay for finally getting that done! I should celebrate, but I know I’m going to have to go back and edit/revise the story, and that can be a time-consuming and headachey process. You writers out their know what I mean. 😉 Still, I’m glad the draft is written.

I’ve finished three short stories, which I’m considering entering into writing competitions. The Rooglewood contest is one of them, and this will be my first time entering it. I’m still debating whether or not I’ll enter the other two contests I have in mind…

Food

Tis the season for everything pumpkin, and I was craving a pumpkin spice latte. That’s when I stumbled onto this delicious recipe for homemade pumpkin spice latte over at Inspired Taste! I had to use almond milk (since I’m lactose intolerant and there was nothing else in the fridge). I used about 1 1/2 cups of it, and was worried because almond milk has a gritty, nutty taste, so I tried to balance it out by adding more coffee instead. I made two cups of coffee, making it very strong, instead of the recipe’s 1/2 cup, and I used 4 tablespoons of sugar. It’s a very flexible recipe, so try what you like, and taste as you heat and stir.

The result: two and a half mugs of deliciousness that brought me into the fall season! This recipe is a keeper.

Another recipe I tried was Morning Glory Baked Oatmeal by Ellie Krieger’s recipe, and it turned out great! I didn’t use the coconut or raisins, you can easily omit them, and once again I used almond milk (which worked great!). The carrot and apple blended into the oatmeal so smoothly that I couldn’t tell they were there, which makes this a great dish to disguise healthy fruits and veggies for the picky eaters in your family. 🙂

What I Watched

The Vietnam War, PBS, Ken Burns, Lynn Novick, American history,

The Vietnam War series on PBS. Before watching, I knew next to nothing about this war. I recall it being discussed a little bit back in my high school days, but it was mostly WW2 that was focused on. Watching this series has been eye opening, and given me a new understanding of that period in American history. I do recommend this series, but if you’re sensitive to war films, this one is very graphic and disturbing at points. Ken Burns and Lynn Novick did an excellent job of peeling away the confusion and mystery surrounding the Vietnam War, explaining it in a way that I could easily understand, and could follow the many different points-of-view.

Doctor Who, Scifi series, science fiction series, adventure, thrill, BBC, doctor who new seasons,

Doctor Who series. I finally finished the latest season last week! I’ve been meaning to catch up on this fun, crazy ride through space TV show, and now I finally have. That ending though… Do we really have to wait until December for the next episode?

And now for the upcoming changes taking place!

Blog posts are moving to Mondays, starting October 16! I’m hopeful that posting at the start of each week will be easier for me and for readers. Which leads me to the next change:

#MondayTopic, which is a new series I’ve been wanting to try out on the blog. Since there are just three months left before this year ends (yikes!), I’ll be testing this idea starting now through to December. If people like it, I’ll continue; if not, then that’s that. The topics will range from weird facts to strange science to inspirational ideas. October 16 will be the first try out! I’ll continue to have Updates posts and writing/reading related posts, so fear not, in case you were wondering. This will just be a new addition to the schedule.

I’ve added a book progress bar to the site! Now whenever you want to know what my current writing progress is, you can see it in the upper right of the side bar (or by scrolling below the comments section, if you’re using mobile).

How has your September been? Any Doctor Who fans reading this? Have you read/seen any of the books/movies I mentioned? Any great recipes you’d like to share?

Also be sure and subscribe to this blog’s email list so you can get in on book sneak peeks, special giveaways when held, and more from me!

Fantasy, YA, MG, epic reads, reading, what to read, E E Rawls, vchronicles, book series, new author, new series, new read, best read, must read, storytelling, goodreads, 2017, SFF books, fantasy books, author blog,

© 2017-to present author E.E. Rawls and RawlsE.wordpress.com
(ads are by WordPress, not me)

7 thoughts on “September Into October #MonthlyUpdate

  1. Between the three short stories, the prequel novella, and the Strayborn edits, you’ve accomplished a lot over the past month! That’s really good, E. And I hope you’re enjoying Assassin’s Apprentice and Shadow & Bone.

    And I agree about the Vegas shooting. It’s… just… hard to find words now. But this can’t keep happening. We need change, and we need certain people to make the tough choices that will allow such changes to happen in our country. But that’s a story for another day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, it was good to show myself that I could get more writing done in one month. I used to take twice, even thrice, that long to write one short story.

      So true. That could be a whole post, a whole book topic in and of itself. It’s so painful.

      Liked by 1 person

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

