Life, Books, Movies and Food #monthlyupdate

author E E Rawls, blog, updates, books, epic fantasy, scifi fantasy, young adult, adventure, middle grade, storytelling, must read, epic reads, months, blogging, amwriting, reading,

It’s about time I did a monthly update, and today I have a lot to share with you about books, food, movies, and writing! Aside from an unexpected trip to SC, which took up most of July, and viewing the Hampton beach sand sculptures, I’ve been:

What I’m Reading

Memories of Ash, Sunbolt chronicles, Intisar Khanani, books, fantasy, book series, fantasy series, speculative fiction,

Memories Of Ash, the sequel to Sunbolt, and book #2 in the Sunbolt Chronicles by Intisar Khanani. It’s a different kind of speculative fiction, leaning towards fantasy but in a way that is unique. It has a desert meets fantasy meets mythology feel, with Japanese tanuki and soul eaters thrown into the mix.

Courage Fighting Fear with Fear, Wayne a Mack, Joshua Mack, God, Bible, Christian book, how to fight fear, fear, faith, courage, love, bible study, study book, bible book,

Courage: Fighting Fear With Fear, a Christian-oriented book about life, and the worries and troubles we come across. A great read for those focusing on their faith, and for those new to the Bible. The church study group of a friend of mine was going through this book, and she loved it and recommended it to me. Thank you, Jensine! (be sure to check out her scifi noir blog)

Assassin's Apprentice, Robin Hobb, fantasy books, epic fantasy reads, best reads, must reads, great reads, goodreads, fantasy series, books, storm, gray, best sellers, awards, New york times bestselling, author blog, author e e rawls,

I just got the Assassin’s Apprentice in the mail today! I’ve heard a lot of great things about this series, and this will be my first Robin Hobb read. I hear she’s a master of epic fantasy, so I’m looking forward to reading this once I’ve finished MoA.

What I’m Writing

After having the second wave of beta readers go through the story, I’ve been revising Strayborn every day and combing through the details. It’s been my main project for four years now, and is getting closer to being ready for publication. Once I’m done revising, I’ll put the book aside for a while so I can return to it with a clear mind, following the process listed in Revising A Manuscript Is Like Cleaning A Castle. I still have a map to sketch up, and a book cover to brainstorm ideas for, so my brain is on overload, lol.

I wrote a fun short story called The Grump Wizard for the Tales of A Modern Bard challenge. And a Tanka styled poem Go Out On A Limb.

What I’m Eating

This is a new addition to the Updates series, where I’ll share whatever healthy, delicious food I’ve found. I say “healthy,” but you know I’m going to include desserts now and then too, because desserts are healthy for the soul. 😉

I’ve been adding blueberries to my cereal every morning. Yes, you can laugh. 🙂 When me and my family had to travel to SC to see my grandfather before he passed, we stayed at the house of the most sweetest, elderly couple I’ve ever met, and every morning they had fruit with their cereal, and that’s where I got into the habbit of mixing fruit with my gluten-free Chex.

briannas, blush wine, salad dressing, vinaigrette, vinigaret, salad, red, green, summer, food, strawberry, delicious, best, great food,

Spring Salad Mix is so good this time of year, and it’s been made better for me with the Briannas Homestyle Blush Wine salad dressing. It’s much healthier than most dressings I find in the store, and there’s no soy in it which is an added bonus.

What I’m Watching

Photo Ark, Joel Sartore, animals, photos, studio, art, wolf, monkey, birds, ocean life, animal ark, collection, zoos, frog, cat, cheetah, fish, snake,

The Photo Ark series on PBS, where Joel Sartore travels the world taking studio-quality photos of animals, especially the endangered species that will soon no longer exist. Like the docile Northern white rhino (only 3 left in the world), and the Yangtze giant softshell turtle (also only 3 left). The show is adventurous and fun, like when Sartore goes trekking through miles of a jungle-covered island, exhausted, to reach a nest of Kiwi birds who clearly don’t want them there. And it’s a chance to see places you might never get to travel to (I’d rather watch Joel hike through a dense, humid jungle than do it myself 😉 ). Browse his website to view all of the photos he has so far!

Valerian and the city of a thousand planets, dane dehaan, cara delevingne, summer movie, fun, movies, what to watch, scifi, science fiction, comic series,

I haven’t been to the movies much (gasp!), but I did see Valerian and The City of a Thousand Planets. The world-building was very good, and the imagery and colors astounding, but the story plot did fall flat in places. It was still fun for the most part, but not as great as the hype made it seem.

What I hope to see: Wonderwoman, Guardians of the Galaxy 2, Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales, Kong Skull Island, and Despicable Me 3. I’m sure I’ll add more to the list later, and most likely I’ll wait to rent most of these rather than go to the theater. But that’s all for now. How about you?

How has your summer been? Any plans for August? Have you read/seen any of the books or movies I mentioned?

Also be sure and subscribe to this blog’s email list so you can get in on book sneak peeks, special giveaways when held, and more from me!

Fantasy, YA, MG, epic reads, reading, what to read, E E Rawls, vchronicles, book series, new author, new series, new read, best read, must read, storytelling, goodreads, 2017, SFF books, fantasy books, author blog,

© 2017 author E.E. Rawls and RawlsE.wordpress.com
(ads are by WordPress, not me)

15 thoughts on “Life, Books, Movies and Food #monthlyupdate

  1. I actually bought Brianna’s Poppyseed dressing not too long ago, just because it sounded good. Plus, it says it would taste good on peaches – and IT DOES. 😀

    Assassin’s Apprentice is wonderful! I read it over the spring and loved it. It’s more of a character-driven epic fantasy than a plot-driven one, so bear that in mind when you read it. But the characters and the worldbuilding and… Oh, it’s such a good book. I hope you enjoy it, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • If you read any of the three books, let me know your thoughts! They’re all great. 🙂
      Yeah, it’s more of a fun-to-rent one weekend movie, not the great story the hype made people believe.

      Like

  2. I did read a Robin Hobb book last year, I think it was, but I can’t remember which one it was. It could have been Assassin’s Apprentice. I think it was the first in the series, anyway.

    And I realy want to see both Wonder Woman and Valerian. They both look so good. But I’m waiting to get/rent them on dvd because I’m not a fan of sitting for a long time in the cinema. I did see Despicable Me 3 in the cinema though. I haven’t seen the others in the series, but I did enjoy it. It was a fun watch. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • I am counting down the days till the DVD release of Wonder Woman. I haven’t actually seen the first two in the Despicable series. A friend explained some of the back story to me. I do need to see them though.

        I hope to. They’re on the very long TBR list. The series is a bit confusing though. I can’t work out where I should be starting, or if the one I read was the first one. :/

        Liked by 1 person

        • I just saw Wonder Woman! It’s fantastic, I really enjoyed it. Did you watch it yet?

          Assassin’s Apprentice is the first book. Maybe Goodreads has them all listed out in order.

          Like

  3. Great to hear from you! Yay for progress on your books! That animal show sounds interesting! I’m behind on new movies as well. XD I want to see Valerian, WW, and Spider-Man.

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

