How I Discovered The Fantasy Genre Through Tolkien (Guest Post by E.E. Rawls)

I got to be a part of Tolkien’s Reading Event this week! Below is my linked guest post, the story of how I first discovered Tolkien and the amazing genre of fantasy!

Pages Unbound | Book Reviews & Discussions

Tolkien Reading Event 2017

Every year on March 25, the anniversary of the Downfall of Sauron, the Tolkien Society hosts Tolkien Reading Day. This year’s theme is Poetry and Songs in Tolkien’s Fiction. The primary goal is to promote the reading of the works of J.R R. Tolkien! To celebrate, Pages Unbound will be hosting two weeks of Tolkien-related posts. In addition to our own thoughts, we will be featuring a number of guest posts! Check out the complete schedule here.


Tolkien Books

Fantasy took on a whole other light for me the day I first met Tolkien’s work: The Lord of the Rings.

It was the year my family moved back to America from Italy—a difficult transition, as Italy had been my home for 6 years, and was the longest we had remained in one place for my dad’s job. That year was a low point in life, and I needed something encouraging…

View original post 716 more words

3 thoughts on “How I Discovered The Fantasy Genre Through Tolkien (Guest Post by E.E. Rawls)

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

