2017 Resolutions Tag

goals, dreams, fire, bonfire, new year, 2017, 2016, celebration, resolutions,
Time to sit around the bonfire, roasting marshmallows, on this chilly winter day in the northern hemisphere. This is the perfect time for the Resolution Blog Tag, a chance to share with you my goals and hopes for this new year! Book blogger Trisha Ann tagged me for this.

My Bookish Resolutions:

To read faster! 🙂 I am a snail of a reader, so finishing two or *gasp* three books in a month would be fantastic! But if that turns out to be too unrealistic for my snail-ish ways, then I hope to continue finishing one book per 3-4 weeks, as I did this year. I’d say on average it took me three weeks per book; I can be satisfied with that, seeing as I have to divide my time between writing and revising.

To get to all of those books I’ve been dying to read that are waiting on my Goodreads list! I got a bunch of these for Christmas (huge, glorious haul!), and I cannot wait to dive in! 😀

Writing Resolutions:

To get Strayborn ready for a second wave of beta readers, and then pour over the feedback I receive. If the book is at last deemed worthy and ready, I hope to publish it this 2017!!! *squeal*

I now have two novellas to revise and fix up this year, before book 2 comes out, including The Fairy, The Hunter And The Quest For Fhern.

I need to get a start on revising book 2, Strayborn’s sequel. It’s already been drafted, but the revising process will be long, so I’d like to get to it soon as I can!

Blogging Resolutions:

To maintain a steady pace. What with all of my spare time going towards Strayborn, there are weeks when my writer’s brain is too exhausted to write up posts. I want to find that perfect balance between writing/revising books while also blogging on the side.

To finish creating a new website for my book series! I’ll have to get this done before Strayborn is published, and it is no easy task (as you know).

Personal Resolutions:

Keep on exercising! I’ve been doing good on the bike this year.

Start lifting weights or do a martial art like Tai Chi, something to strengthen these weak, pitiful muscles, lol. I failed to do much of this last year, so here’s hoping I’ll succeed this year!

Find more delicious food for my food allergies! I can’t stand not being able to eat gluten or dairy products some days, so it’d be great to find more alternatives. (It’s an ongoing quest)

Encourage others. It’s something I love to do, though I failed to do much of it last year, as I had too many problems of my own to struggle through.

To continue focusing on God. He is the reason for my life.
“For You have been my help, And in the shadow of Your wings I sing for joy. My soul clings to You; Your right hand upholds me.”—Psalm 63:7

I hope you have had a good January start to the year, so far, dear readers. What are your resolutions for 2017? Share with us in the comments.

If you would like to do this Resolutions Tag on your blog, Facebook or wherever else, then consider yourself TAGGED! 🙂 There are no rules except to share your new year resolutions. All I ask is that you link back to this post’s url somewhere in your post.


Want news and exclusives from Strayborn and other Novels-in-progress? Subscribe to the e-Newsletter!

Fantasy, YA, MG, epic reads, reading, what to read, E E Rawls, vchronicles, book series, new author, new series, new read, best read, must read, storytelling, goodreads, 2017, SFF books, fantasy books, author blog,

© 2017 author E. E. Rawls and RawlsE.wordpress.com
(ads are by WordPress, not me)

17 thoughts on “2017 Resolutions Tag

  1. I’m terrible with resolutions. (*blushes*) Actually, I shouldn’t say I’m terrible at it. I just don’t put much effort into making them at the beginning of the year. If I want to do or change something, I try to do it when I think of it.

    I do have goals that I’m working toward, of course. Like working on Draft #1 of The Novella, revising TKC again once beta-reader feedback has come in, and going to the writing retreat in Iceland. So there are those to consider. 🙂

    Ooooh, what books did you get for Christmas? Do tell!

    Good luck on all of your goals and resolutions! Especially the writing-related ones. But remember, make sure Strayborn is truly done and ready for the world before you push it to publish. You’ll want it to be its most brilliant, sparkling self!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I get what you mean; I’m not a die-hard resolutions type, I view them more as goals I hope to succeed in each year, because like you said it can be too much pressure otherwise. 🙂
      So many! I got Six of Crows, Vanishing Throne, Sabriel, Blood for Blood, Mortal Instruments, Terry Prachett book, Memories of Ash, and…I can’t think what else, right now, but they make a nice book tower. 😉
      Yes, the reason I have been taking so long (4 years now?) working on Strayborn is because I want it to be the best it can be. Beta reader feedback has been very helpful, and analyzing my writing style has shown me how to improve. After reading This Savage Song, I know I want my writing style to be more similar to Schwab’s; it resonated with me so much! So that is what I’ll be focusing on these next couple of months. Thanks for your encouragement, Sara, it means a lot to me! *hugs*

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These are all great goals! I too want to try to read more this year. It’s finding time that’s difficult. Especially since I want to devote more time to writing this year too. 🙂
    That would be EPIC if you published Strayborn! I would LOVE to read it. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wouldn’t it be great to finish all of our Goodreads to-read lists this year? (I would need to buy a pair of super-powered eyes, though; and sadly, none are currently available. 😉 )
      Writing and reading both need time, and I find when all I do is write I go crazy wanting to read, and when all I do is read I go crazy wanting to write, haha. I hope we’re both able to find the perfect balance this year!
      *squeal* I can’t wait to publish it! I really hope it’s this year, but I will take my time and make sure the book is truly ready first before I publish. I’m excited for you to read it! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 🙂 You encouraged me all over the place this year!! I loved finding your upbeat comments on the blog posts!
    If you find any good gluten-free recipes, you’ll have to share with me!! I don’t have an allergy, but I’m trying to eat better, and that seems to do the trick. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

