Time To Tease The Characters Of Strayborn!

I was nominated by fellow writer Sara Letourneau to do this fun tag called The Six-Questions Character Challenge. This is a fun way for me to further introduce you to three of the characters from Strayborn (novel-in-progress), and add a dose of humor! 😉

Here’s a brief explanation from the creator of this tag Briana deSilva @ The Story Part:

The first prompt asks for a “contradiction.” Every important character in your story should have something contradictory or seemingly inconsistent about their personality. We see this with people in real life, and it’s the mark of a rounded, three-dimensional character.

The second prompt asks for a Meyers-Briggs personality type. If you’re unsure what type your character is, you can take the test on their behalf here.

Also, the fourth prompt asks how your character would slay a dragon. This is purely hypothetical, so the prompt can be applied to any genre you want.

Now, the first character up for interrogation *ahem*, I mean questioning, is…

1. Cyrus Sole

Cyrus, Strayborn, VChronicles, GT, book series, red hair, elf character, half elf, half blood, princess, fair, curly hair, girl,

without eye make-up 🙂

Who is she? A young half-elf who has been rejected by her kind for her tainted blood and Elemental Manipulation Ability. She is the main heroine of Strayborn.

Contradiction: She wants to train in the D.G. League, even though they despise elves. She’s compassionate, but a fiery spirit lies beneath the surface of her quiet demeanor.

Personality Type: The Protagonist (ENFJ-T), also a dreamer and advocate.

Favorite color:

Cyrus: Oh, there are so many pretty colors! Greens, browns, and blues appeal to me lately.

How would she slay a dragon?

Cyrus: Unusual question. I would rather drive the dragon away than slay it, but if that’s not possible, then I’d lure it into a net of ropes (the really strong kind). I still couldn’t do the actual killing, though… Why are you asking me this?

Rawls: Just play along.

Her darkest secret:

Cyrus: This question is even worse!

Rawls: Try to answer.

Cyrus: Well…I have to live disguised as a boy now, because the Academy is a boys school.

Rawls: We already know that.

Cyrus: …I’m afraid of snakes. Don’t tell! I don’t want somebody pranking me with snakes… *shudders*

Rawls: That’s not very dark.

Cyrus: Okay, my darkest secret is that my mom was murdered when I was a child, and the culprit is still out there somewhere.

Rawls: Ooh, that is dark.

Where does she see herself in 10 years?

Cyrus: I hope to have my Ability mastered, become an influential member of the D.G. League, and bring about change in the way humanoid races view one another, as well as put an end to slavery.

Rawls: That’s ambitious!

2. Aken-Shou Bloodre

Aken Shou, aken, Strayborn, VChronicles, book series, blonde, orphan, vampire, character, Emil Andersson,

add some bangs over left eye

Who is he? A boy living in poverty from the Outskirts, who strives to become something more and escape his life’s dismal situation. He’s the second protagonist of Strayborn.

Contradiction: He wants to be a better person, but continues to get himself in trouble. Craves attention, but he cannot get along with people well.

Personality Type: The Commander (ENTJ-A), but also a creative and troublemaker.

Favorite color:

Aken: Uh…I don’t know. I guess red, black, some greens…

How would he slay a dragon?

Aken: Easy! My explosive Ability could knock it out of the sky, make it dizzy enough for a group of us to attack. Mind you, I wouldn’t go killing an innocent dragon—just those vicious ones.

Rawls: Aren’t you a tad over confident in your Ability? Dragons are tough to combat, not to mention full-grown adult dragons.

Aken: Why are you doubting me? Aren’t I your beloved character?

Rawls: Get over yourself, kid.

His darkest secret:

Aken: Hehe, as if I’d say.

Rawls: Say something.

Aken: Fine, fine! *rolls eyes* Um…I hear a voice inside my head sometimes. It’s creepy, and I don’t want to talk about it.

Rawls: …Okay, that is creepy. Do you need a psychiatrist?

Where does he see himself in 10 years?

Aken: Fighting bad guys, and protecting the Kingdom of Draeth! Oh and I’ll be the greatest Head Master this world has ever seen! That Nephryte guy won’t stand a chance against my awesome power! Ha!

Rawls: You do realize he’s coming up next? If he hears you, you won’t get away unscathed.

Aken: *Shuts mouth, then pretends to whistle* I wasn’t saying anything. Just chatting with the birds. *whistle, whistle*

3. Master Nephryte

Master Nephryte, Strayborn, VChronicles, book series, vampire, character, intellectual, spiritual, belief, faith, Dan Stevens, male, smile, wavy hair,

add longer hair, and a high-collar tunic

Who is he? A Master of Elemental Manipulation at the elite D.G. League Academy, who becomes both mentor and instructor to Cyrus and Aken.

Contradiction: Even though he is a D.G. Master, and therefore an enemy to elves, he has empathy and compassion for all races. He is also understanding, but will not let bad behavior go unpunished.

Personality Type: The Defender (ISFJ-A) also a spiritual.

Favorite color:

Nephryte: Blues and silver, there’s something very elegant about them.

How would he slay a dragon?

Nephyte: Slay a dragon? If it isn’t hurting anybody, then I refuse. I would much rather fly alongside it and observe.

Rawls: What if it tries to eat you?

Nephryte: I’ll just push it aside with my Ability. It’s no big deal, really.

Rawls: You are crazy powerful. That’s just not fair.

His darkest secret:

Nephryte: Ah, darkest secret… I would like to say, but I’m afraid it would be too “spoilery” for the story if I did.

Rawls: How about your second darkest secret, then?

Nephryte: When I was young, I was mischievous and caused the principal grief.

Rawls: You? But you’re the calm, considerate, wise Master who is always full of advice! I can’t imagine you being mischievous.

Nephryte: Yes, well, a traumatic experience can change a person. Sorry, but I can’t explain any further.

Where does he see himself in 10 years?

Nephryte: I want to continue being a teacher, Master, and mentor to students for as long as I’m able. Most of all, I want to see my Floor’s students, especially Aken-Shou and Cyrus, succeed in their goals in becoming influential members of the D.G. League and Draeth society.

Rawls: What about marriage? Starting a family?

Nephryte: Ah, no. *Looks a bit uncomfortable* My family is my students. I don’t ask for anything more than that.

Aken: Yeah right! I know you have a crush on a certain Lady—

Nephryte: Don’t interrupt someone else’s interview, Aken-Shou. Or should I have you write an essay on proper manners?

Aken: Admit you do! *Quick runs before Master Nephryte can punish him*

Rawls: You have a long road of work ahead of you with that boy, Nephryte… I hope you are prepared.

Nominees for this tag:
I nominate…YOU. If this tag sounds like fun, give it a try! Just link back to this post so we can read your 6 Character Questions results!

Want news and exclusives from Strayborn and other Novels-in-progress? Subscribe to the e-Newsletter!

© 2016 E. E. Rawls and RawlsE.wordpress.com

(ads are by WordPress, not me)

13 thoughts on “Time To Tease The Characters Of Strayborn!

  1. Ooooh, yay! The Character Challenge continues! 🙂

    Aken-Shou definitely sounds like a troublemaker. *lol* And I like the sounds of all three characters. I’m curious how well Cyrus and Aken-Shou will get along (or not)… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a great writing challenge! StoriTori nominated me for another one, so I will get to do this again with more characters later!
      Haha, yes he is. His connection with Cyrus is an interesting one, to say the least. *lol* She does not like troublemakers.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These sound like really cool characters. I especially like Nephryte haha. I like the calmer characters. XD Best wishes writing them!

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] At an early age, my mother would read me bedtime stories and make up some of her own. Reading became a fun companion and entertainment for me through the years since, especially as my family moved from place to place. My love for reading is what soon developed my love for writing, and why I eventually wrote Strayborn. […]

    Liked by 1 person

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

