October Summary and Leaf Love, 2016 #monthlywrapup #booknerd #authorblog

autumn, fall, beauty, trees, red, forest, woods, elf, nature, SFF, books, reading, writing, story, author blog, good reads,

Fall colors, pumpkin spice and everything nice! Isn’t autumn so beautiful? I don’t know about you, but I took way too many photos of trees this season! (said photos in this post 😉 ) But besides all of that, there were exciting things that happened this October:

I sent out a special e-newsletter announcing (for the first time) the title of my soon to be published novel: Strayborn! I included an excerpt from the book, and was overjoyed by the positive responses I received from you lovely readers!

autumn, fall, beauty, trees, red, forest, woods, elf, nature, SFF, books, reading, writing, story, author blog, good reads,

I later posted a blog post announcing Strayborn to the blogosphere. So many encouraging comments came, they brought a big smile to my face! I can’t thank you enough. There is still so much more I want to share with you about this novel, and I hope to do so, bit by bit, until the release month approaches. I’m aiming for a publish date sometime in May–August. Release dates tend to change, so it’s good to have a wide range of several months so that you can postpone as long as you may need to. I would love for it to be in May, but there is a lot of work yet to be done, such as the cover, setting up a book launch, setting up a new website, and there’s a novella I’d like to finish… Basically, I have a huge plate of work to finish in preparation! 🙂 I’ll keep you up-to-date through my newsletter and this blog.

Speaking of novellas, this brings me to my unofficial NaNoWriMo this month!

Some of you may remember the fairy named Clover from several stories I wrote about her here on the blog. Well, this is my NaNo project! Retitled: The Fairy, The Hunter, And The Quest For Fhern. Clover is as headstrong and snarky as ever, and I’m having fun diving deeper into her world! If you would like to have a peek at the beginning of her tale, visit this Chapter 1 post.

autumn, fall, beauty, trees, red, forest, woods, elf, nature, SFF, books, reading, writing, story, author blog, good reads,

READING

I finished reading The Raven Boys, and while it took me a while to get into the plot and characters, once I was immersed in the story’s mystery, I remained there and couldn’t stop reading until the end. Each of the Raven boys is unique and has their own set of problems; they kept me interested throughout the book. Blue the female protagonist was nice, funny, though not as entertaining as the boys. I feel like we need to get to know her better, explore her character more, which might happen in the sequels I have yet to read. Others, like Blue’s mom and the psychic Persephone, were so much fun with their quirks and unusual ways! I almost want to read the sequel just for them!

For me, the author did a great job of making this world feel real, which added an eerie, creepy element to the story once paranormal things began happening. (That forest…so creepy and beautiful!) So overall, if you love paranormal romance, it’s a good one!
(Does contain several strong swears and curse words)

Books I recently rated on my Goodreads page:

  • Vastian Lore by S.C. Gregory
  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

MOVIES

x men, apocalypse, magneto, xavier, marvel, super heroes, comics, movies, review, media, entertainment, storm, wolverine, mystic,

X-Men Apocalypse: Different from the other X-Men movies, but I really liked it! The new bad guy, while not as crazy and savage as previous villains, had his own unnerving and erroneous streak in the way in which he viewed the world and viewed himself as a literal god, with god-like power. We learn more about our favorite X-men, and more about Magneto, and there is tons of action and CGI splendor you don’t want to miss!

Alice through the looking glass, alice, mad hatter, Wonderland, sequel, queen of hearts, father time, march hare, Cheshire, white queen, wonderland movie, movies, review, stories, fantasy, adventure, drama, comedy,

Alice, Through the Looking Glass: Maybe I just have a taste for the strange and wondrous, but I loved this movie! Hatter was so fun and entertaining, but in this tale he showed us another side of himself: a boy who simply wanted his father’s approval and who loved his family. We also got to see a different side of the evil Queen of Hearts and learn the true reason why she became so evil, and the person who was to blame for it. I won’t give away any spoilers, except to say that this story was fun, creative, another Tim Burton great, and had much heart put into lessons we can all relate to, or at least appreciate.

autumn, fall, beauty, trees, red, forest, woods, elf, nature, SFF, books, reading, writing, story, author blog, good reads,

THINGS TO COME

Strayborn has one round of revisions left to go! It is currently in the hands of several beta readers. After that, I will be handing out ARC copies in exchange for honest reviews on Goodreads, Amazon, and blogs!

I will keep you up to date on this Strayborn endeavor and my NaNoWriMo progress! 🙂

How was your October?


Want special excerpts, news and exclusives from my Novels-in-progress? Subscribe to my e-Newsletter!


(photos are copyrighted by me)

*This post is also a part of the Monthly Wrap-up Round-up link up by Feed Your Fiction Addiction.

10 thoughts on “October Summary and Leaf Love, 2016 #monthlywrapup #booknerd #authorblog

  1. Lovely foliage photos, E. I’m not a huge fan of fall (because it always reminds me what’s coming around the corner… ), but you do have to appreciate the beauty of this season. My parents have a couple burning bushes in their backyard, and about 4 weeks ago their leaves were a beautiful, bright red.

    Congrats again on finding the One Title for your book. 🙂 And again, I’m sorry I had to turn down beta-reading. The timing of things in my life offline just wasn’t working in a way that I could do it without feeling spread too thin. 😦

    Good for you for giving NaNo a spin. Is this your first time doing it? How many words do you have so far?

    I still need to see Alice Through The Looking Glass. Maybe it’ll be free on demand… As for me, I saw The Queen of Katwe about a month ago. It’s based on the true story of a young girl in the slums of Uganda who becomes an international chess champion. What a wonderful movie; wonderfully acted, and very eye-opening and moving. And this weekend I’m going to see Dr. Strange with my brother when I visit him and my parents on the Cape. Apparently he’s already seen it once, and really wants to see it again.

    Btw, I noticed on Goodreads the other day that you’re reading The Night Circus now. What do you think of it so far?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know what you mean, and I chuckle nervously because I don’t want winter to come.
      Ooh pretty! We do have a few fire bushes, but my mom trimmed them too low, so they turned out rather pitiful this season, haha.
      It’s all right, you never can predict what offline life will bring you. I’m doing an unofficial NaNo, so I’ve not signed up on the site. But so far my attempt has gone well, though I’ve missed a few days writing because of life. I’m almost at 15,000 words.
      Oh, I’ve been wanting to see Queen of Katwe! And yes, Dr. Strange! I hope I can see it this weekend. 🙂
      The descriptions in The Night Circus are beautiful. There is a lot of jumping back and forth between past, present, and future, so I have to keep my mind flexible with it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on the release!

    I’m so happy about fall weather. I’m leaving soon to get a fall-themed drink from Starbucks soon haha. I liked X-Men Apocalypse a lot! And Through the Looking Glass sounds interesting! I’d like to see that one. ^ ^

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

