My August Happenings, 2016 #monthlywrapup #booknerd #authorblog

Rawls E Fantasy, Reminiscing, fantasy, authorblog, blogseries, reading, adventure, epic fantasy series, YA, MG, new author, new series, blogger, booklover, mustread, elves, dragons, fairies, fae, vampires, goblins, mystery,

August, yes, it was a different kind of month. I had a lot of fun near the beginning, going on a road trip out to IL, as you can see in my post about the trip and some photos from the St. Louis Botanical Gardens. But then coming back from that, life became stressful for a while. I didn’t blog nearly as much, or keep up with comments. The fact that this season brings with it breathing problems for me (pollen and who-knows-what flying in the air) made it an even rougher time. Really, I had not been myself. But it’s September now! And hopefully the air will clear up soon and things get back to normal! Some leaves are already changing color here. I’m like “Wait until October, trees!” XD But I do love fall colors, so I really shouldn’t complain. Okay, onward to the month’s happenings!

This post is also a part of the Monthly Wrap-up Round-up link up by Feed Your Fiction Addiction.

WRITING

Writing Progress: “V. Chronicles” the dastardly behemoth WIP

Should I tell you? Should I? I’m only 50 pages away from FINISHING the LAST DRAFT!!! Aaaaaah, I can hardly believe it! This book should be ready for beta readers sometime next month! *squee!*

I’ve yet to reveal the new title of this WIP, but I plan to do so this September! So, keep your eye’s peeled for that Writing Update post in which I shall reveal it, and also explain the book series! 😉

Happenings On The Blog

I finally celebrated this blog’s Two-Year Blogiversary with a fun Q&A! It was a joy answering questions from all you lovely readers! ❤

READING

I finished reading Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson! And I can’t wait to write a review here for it! This book really surprised me, in a good way. I’ll be reviewing it this month, for sure.

Book reviews I hope to add on my Goodreads and Amazon:

  • Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson
  • Vastian Lore by S.C. Gregory
  • Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
  • Making Money by Terry Pratchett

MOVIES

the Jungle Book, movie of the month, jungle, book, Mowgli, Baloo, Bagheera, black cat, movie review, reviews, media, new release,

I really enjoyed the new Jungle Book movie. It had a more serious tone to it than the original. The tiger Shere Khan was a truly scary predator, and looked so realistic that I wondered many times if a real tiger was used. His scenes with Mowgli were intense. I also really appreciated how each animal’s behavior and mannerisms in the real world were captured perfectly and used in the movie. Facial expressions weren’t exaggerated but looked very realistic. You know how when they’ll make a dog look like it’s smiling, and you can totally tell that it’s fake, been tweaked by CGI and such? Well, this movie did such a good job with their animals that you can’t tell it’s fake; when Bagheera smiles, it’s a natural, simple cat smile that you can believe. The voice actors also did an amazing and believable job in each of their roles. The story was touching and kept much of the fun humor I so loved from the original Disney Jungle Book; Baloo was so funny! Kaa was creepy, and King Louie quite a tyrant. The scenery was downright gorgeous, and the plot had a lesson you could follow throughout the story. I definitely recommend it!

THINGS TO COME

♦ A Writing Update post to reveal my WIP’s new title!
Note: Those who subscribe to my Newsletter (click link) will get first look at the new Title and a special written piece from the V.Chronicles series!

♦ Hopefully I can get to some fun reader/writer tags posted. More Madnes Solver, of course, and whatever else time will allow!

How was your August?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Want special excerpts, news and exclusives from my Novels-in-progress? Subscribe to my e-Reader list!

27 thoughts on “My August Happenings, 2016 #monthlywrapup #booknerd #authorblog

  1. I hope the pollens do clear up for you. Their just about gone here, which I am grateful for. And it’s definitely feeling like autumn, if not looking like it yet. 🙂

    Looking forward to the new title. 🙂

    The Jungle Book sounds good. I was a little sceptical because I loved the old Disney animated one. But you’ve made it sound really good.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Phoenixgrey. There’s still pollen around, but autumn is setting in more and more, so hopefully the air will improve.
      I’m excited and nervous to share it! I didn’t realize how late in the month it already is, so it might end up being next month.
      The Jungle Book was surprisingly good. I was skeptical to see it at first, because the old Disney one was so good and fun, but I liked it. It does have some serious parts that the Disney one didn’t have, but it had a good story that way.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Madeline!!! IKR? I can’t believe it, I can hardly contain myself! *squee!*
      The Jungle Book did have darker parts, which surprised me. I suppose it was to add something more to the story?
      Eeeeee! I’ll send out a special newsletter first too! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Gosh, I haven’t been to the movies in a while… Well, no. Only since the new Star Trek film. But it’s been such a busy year that I haven’t gone to the movies that much. Not even for Finding Dory! 😦

    Good luck with the last 50 pages!! Go go go! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gahhh! I loved the Jungle Book. It’s one of my favorite films of this year by far. I’m going to do a whole post on it soon, because I loved it so much. I totally agree with you about the mannerisms. I also like that they used animals actually from India. In the animated Disney version they used mostly African animals, but in this live action version they used a Sloth Bear which is actually from India and a pangolin, cape porcupine, civet, and other creatures native to India. I’m a wee bit of an animal nerd, so that always irked me about the original.

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay for Jungle Book!! I’m glad you loved it too! Oh cool, I wasn’t sure if all the animals were from India or not, so that’s cool to know. I loved the Sloth Bear and cape porcupine. 🙂 I like animals and all that stuff, but I do sometimes forget which country some of the lesser talked about ones are from.

      Liked by 1 person

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

