St. Louis Botanical Gardens and The Trip!

I just got back from a trip out to IL visiting family, and thought I would share some of the highlights with you, foremost being the St. Louis Botanical Gardens.

Originally we had intended to go to the old Train Station in St. Louis, which years back was a really cool place filled with shops. As a kid, I used to love it. We drove down there, but only to find that it’s been shut down for 5 months for renovations, and may not be anything the same once it’s all finished. It was saddening, but these things happen.

We thought we could take a walk around the area, at least, and stretch our legs, but as we did, I began to realize there were no people around. A whole section of the city with very few people about was very unnerving, and there were several unfriendly-looking loners out on the street. So, needless to say, me and my mom high-tailed it out of there and got back in our car. We decided to visit the Botanical Gardens instead–a much better choice, if you ask me!
(Advice: Google places before visiting them from now on. 😉 )

Here are some of my favorite photos from these lovely gardens:

St. Louis botanical gardens, Titan Arum, death plant, plants, rare, cool, books, author blog, writer, YA, MG, fantasy read, summer fun, adventure, travels, journey, life,This plant is the Titan Arum, also known as the world’s most foul-smelling flower. It’s a rare sight, and I was thrilled to get to see it up close! It blooms and dies in one day, from what I understand, and if you happen to be there on that day, you’ll get to enjoy the sight of its beautiful petals as well as it’s revolting deathish smell.Titan Arum, death plant, St. Louis botanical gardens, plants, rare, cool, books, author blog, writer, YA, MG, fantasy read, summer fun, adventure, travels, journey, life, St. Louis botanical gardens, plants, rare, cool, books, author blog, writer, YA, MG, fantasy read, summer fun, adventure, travels, journey, life,This tree is too cool. Has to be an Ent.St. Louis botanical gardens, plants, rare, cool, books, author blog, writer, YA, MG, fantasy read, summer fun, adventure, travels, journey, life, lily pads, pond, lily,A variety of lilies from around the globe were in bloom in the ponds!St. Louis botanical gardens, plants, rare, cool, books, author blog, writer, YA, MG, fantasy read, summer fun, adventure, travels, journey, life, Japanese, lake, pond, bridge,The Japanese “island” was closed, but the view from the bridge leading to it is so peaceful.Japanese, garden, St. Louis botanical gardens, plants, rare, cool, books, author blog, writer, YA, MG, fantasy read, summer fun, adventure, travels, journey, life,These are part of the Japanese garden area.moss, moss garden, St. Louis botanical gardens, plants, rare, cool, books, author blog, writer, YA, MG, fantasy read, summer fun, adventure, travels, journey, life,Moss evokes a feeling of “contemplative quietude” or so the sign said, and it unifies the landscape by growing where other plants cannot. It’s soft, squishy and pretty shades of green, so I like it. 🙂St. Louis botanical gardens, plants, rare, cool, books, author blog, writer, YA, MG, fantasy read, summer fun, adventure, travels, journey, life, red flower,I’ve never seen a flower quite like this!Climatron, St. Louis botanical gardens, plants, rare, cool, books, author blog, writer, YA, MG, fantasy read, summer fun, adventure, travels, journey, life,Inside the Climatron, which is a moist tropical environment. It was surprisingly nice, the moisture making the air coolish despite the heat of day outside.St. Louis botanical gardens, plants, rare, cool, books, author blog, writer, YA, MG, fantasy read, summer fun, adventure, travels, journey, life, waterfall, St. Louis botanical gardens, plants, rare, cool, books, author blog, writer, YA, MG, fantasy read, summer fun, adventure, travels, journey, life, orchids, trees,Those are white orchids growing in their natural environment. I’ve always loved orchids, and it’s cool to see them how they would be out in the wild forests.St. Louis botanical gardens, plants, rare, cool, books, author blog, writer, YA, MG, fantasy read, summer fun, adventure, travels, journey, life, orange, flower, weird, These are flowers, weird like something from a Tim Burton movie, but I like them. 😉St. Louis botanical gardens, plants, rare, cool, books, author blog, writer, YA, MG, fantasy read, summer fun, adventure, travels, journey, life, red, flower, weird,So concludes the gardens!
We’ve been doing this road trip out to IL for several years now, and have become acquainted with the route and found a few hidden gem stops along the way. This very old dam, now part of a rest-stop for drivers, is one we recently discovered. And what a beautiful place it made for our picnic lunch!

dam, river, water, gate, rest-stop, travels, road trip, writer, blogger, author blog, reading, books, booknerd, adventure, journey, dam, river, water, gate, rest-stop, travels, road trip, writer, blogger, author blog, reading, books, booknerd, adventure, journey, river, water, grass, geese, riverside, pretty spot, blogger, writer, adventurer, travel, author, reading, books,

And this quaint shop Gems, down by the Eerie Canal’s edge, has become a favorite tradition. We always make time to stop in, and it’s a perfect place to take a break from the day’s driving.

Eerie Canal, river, bridge, shop, Gem, water, green, riverside, author blog, blogger, writer, amreading, books, Eerie Canal, river, bridge, shop, Gem, water, green, riverside, author blog, blogger, writer, amreading, books,I hope you enjoyed this little tour of some of our trip! The rest of the time my mom and I spent with my grandma: taking her out to lunch every day, and sneaking ice cream from Dairy Queen (yes, I’m dairy free, so I had to take lactaid tablets, and wasn’t feeling so well from it by the end of the week, lol. But it was worth it! Grandma was having such a fun time. 😉 ). I got to spend quality time with a best buddy, and hang out with my cousin. So all in all, it was a great trip, and I’m looking forward to returning to IL next year!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Want special excerpts, news and exclusives from my Novels-in-progress? Subscribe to my e-reader list!

© 2016 E. E. Rawls and Rawls E. Fantasy

20 thoughts on “St. Louis Botanical Gardens and The Trip!

  1. Glad to hear you had a great trip, E.! Your photos of the botanical gardens came out lovely. They remind me a little bit of Heritage Gardens in Sandwich, especially the pond with lily pads. Those were in full bloom when I visited Heritage back in June.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. 🙂 I had many more photos (the Gardens are huge) but I didn’t want to overwhelm this post, lol.
      I need to visit Heritage Gardens sometime. Sounds like June is a good month to go. I don’t know why the lilies in St.Louis Botanical Gardens bloomed in August. I was there last year in June when the Japanese lotus flower bloomed, but there were no other lilies out yet.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The botanical garden is gorgeous! Gotta say I’m partial to the moss with those beautiful roots. It really is so peaceful looking. It makes me want to lie down and take a long nap. 🙂
    I’m glad you took some photos to remember the experience. Come next summer so I can go with you!! Maybe we’ll see the roadkill-flower in bloom and the Japanese gardens?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was very tempted to take a nap in all that soft moss, not to mention the area was shaded from the sun. 🙂
      Yes, it’s a plan! You’ll love it!
      I sure hope the Japanese island will be open next summer. Oh and let’s bring some nose clips in case that “roadkill flower” does bloom. 😉

      Like

    • That flower was really cool to see up-close. I kind of wish it’d been close to blooming that day, but then again, the smell might have been too much for me, haha. 😀
      I did have fun! It reminded me that God can bring good things out of tough situations.
      Thank you for reading, Madeline. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Gorgeous photos – and it sounds like you had a lot of fun on this trip! I’ve never seen a Titan Arum in bloom either, though I’d “kind of” like to. Don’t you just love the variety and craziness of tropical/exotic plants though? And the peaceful nature of gardens always makes me want to write. You’ve seen my stuff about Meijer Gardens near me – I never want to leave when I’m there!
    Anyhow, ❤ this post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Rebekah, I did!
      The crazy variety of tropical plants is so cool! And is one of the reasons I used to dream of exploring tropical jungles. 😀
      Ikr? Gardens are so inspirational for writing and drawing. I really wanted to stay there and spend the whole day writing!
      I’d love to visit Meijer Gardens. Sadly, all these lovely gardens are so far away from me. *sniffle* How close is Meijer Gardens to you?

      Liked by 1 person

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

