Are You A “Glass is Half-full” or “Glass is Half-empty” Reader? #FishingForAnswers #books

Fishing for answers, author E E Rawls, erawls, rawlse, rawls e fantasy, author blog, fantasy author, new author, epic fantasy, YA author, questions, answers, books, reading, writing, what to read, mustread, amreading, book nerd,

Sometimes an author has questions, and the best person to answer them is YOU. I am eager to hear your thoughts through the poll and comments below!

The Question:

When it comes to books, are you a “glass is half-full” or “glass is half-empty” reader?

Meaning:

We each look at life and situations differently. Some of us with the positive “glass half-full” view, and others with the opposite, which got me thinking if we do the same things with the books we read.

The glass is half-full: You read a book, and it doesn’t turn out to be everything you’d hoped for. But that’s okay! Because you can still find some good things about it (like a character you liked, or aspects of the world-building). The story had potential, and for that reason you’re willing to give the sequel a try. Give the author a second chance! Things will be great next time!

The glass is half-empty: You read a book, and it doesn’t turn out to be everything you’d hoped for. What a disappointment, what was the author thinking? It doesn’t even matter that you liked one of the characters, because the story was so lacking. You most likely won’t read the sequel. There are other books waiting for you, so move on to the next thing.

You can add more to the descriptions if you like, but I think you get the basic idea. Feel free to discuss this more in the comments and share with friends! 🙂

June’s Monthly summary post is coming next. And on July 16 I’ll be announcing the winner of Best Fantasy Weapon for the Silmarillion Awards!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Subscribe to my e-Mail list for writerly news, specials  and exclusives!

26 thoughts on “Are You A “Glass is Half-full” or “Glass is Half-empty” Reader? #FishingForAnswers #books

  1. I’m a glass if half full kind of reader. I tend to give authors a second chance. I read a book a while ago that I didn’t like that much, but still though, well maybe the sequel will be better. It wasn’t. Then there was a third, and I’m still thinking, maybe I should give it a go? (I haven’t.) (As of yet.)

    Liked by 2 people

    • I do the same, tbh, though I try to lean more towards glass is half full. But it can be hard when I’ve had high hopes for a particular book, like you said. Would you give an author a second chance with a different series?
      I might, if the book blurb sounds interesting enough.
      Thanks for dropping in, Erin. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh, this is a hard one! I feel like sometimes I can be a half-empty kind of reader, but I think I’m usually half-full. I try to see the good in all the stories. After all, an author worked hard at that book and I wouldn’t want to make them feel bad. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m mostly half-full too. 🙂 I like to give a story second chances, unless it’s absolutely so terrible that I can’t bear to read a word more, haha. I like it that you try to see the good in all stories, Madeline. Every author will appreciate that, I think. Thanks for commenting. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I… don’t know if I can pick one or the other. :S I always go into a new novel with the hope that I’m going to like it.. But I’ve also started giving myself permission to DNF books that I’m not enjoying. Usually I try to get through the first 100 pages, just to give the book a chance – but if I’m having too many issues with it, I’ll move onto something else.

    That being said, I finish (and enjoyed) more books than I DNF others. So I’m not an overly pessimistic reader. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think that’s a balanced way to approach reading, especially with how little time there is left in a day to read a book you’re not enjoying. I’ll give a book a chance for a while, 100-ish pages like you said, but if none of the characters or anything about the plot appeals to me, then…time for me to move on. I might save it for later: one of those “I’ll hold onto it with the intention of giving it another chance, though I don’t know when that will be.” 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m definitely a glass half full type of reader! I might not read the sequel, though, depending on how disappointed I was in the first book, but I almost always try to find something I liked about. Unless the book made me like really angry. But most of the time, definitely glass half full.

    Thanks for commenting on my blog!

    Alexa
    thessalexa.blogspot.com
    verbosityreviews.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glass half full too! I always look for a character or some mystery in the plot that I can follow and enjoy. But yeah, depending on if the ending is strong enough to make me want to read the sequel, I probably wouldn’t. Unless I just absolutely loved a certain character–then I must know what happens to them next! 🙂
      Thank you for commenting, Alexa!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m usually a glass-half-full reader. 🙂 I tend to enjoy books if I can. There are occasions in which I will be let down enough by a book that I won’t want to carry on with the series/author. But that depends. Normally though, I tend to enjoy books, even if they’re not perfect. ^_^ Great question! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for commenting, Deborah!
      I’m glass half-full too. 🙂 Though with time being short, and so many books out there waiting to be read, I won’t continue a series. Unless there’s a character that I simply must know what happens to! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

