Wolf By Wolf, a Review of the #historicalfiction novel by #RyanGraudin

Wolf by Wolf
—Ryan Graudin

Genre: Historical Fiction

Wolf by Wolf, Ryan Graudin, Once upon a time, kingdom of death, Yael, characters, books, novels, authorblog, new author, book review, blogseries, wolf, red, green, map, tale, legend, historical fiction, world war two,

thenovl.com

Story contains: violence, action.

This is one of the best books I’ve read in a while! An intense read that kept me turning the pages. A historical fiction novel that’s based on the “what if’s” after World War 2, especially the “what if” Hitler had won.

This story was full of action, but not in a way that fries your brain (as some action movies do when so many kicks and explosions are happening all at once that you have no clue what’s going on). Thankfully, the action here is well balanced with character development–which is my favorite part of a story. We want to learn about the characters and connect with them, and for me Wolf by Wolf did just that.

Main character Yael goes on the Axis Tour, which is a motorcycle race across several countries, from Germania to Tokyo. She must win for the sake of the world, because only the winner can get close enough to Hitler to kill him. But she can’t enter the race as Yael. Instead, she goes undercover as Adele Wolfe, who was the winner of the previous Axis Tour and who’d met Hitler after winning. Hitler had a fancy for her, the pure German Adele. And for these reasons, impersonating Adele is key.

While reading, you feel the heavy weight Yael carries on her shoulders as she rides her pulse-pounding motorcycle through the roughest and most dangerous terrains. It kept me enthralled. The author’s writing style is different than what I normally come across (bolded words, parenthesis, etc) but after the first chapter I grew used to her style and fell right into the story. For a while every other chapter is a flashback to Yael’s past, but don’t worry, this is a good thing, as it reveals important events in Yael’s life and the few persons special to her that made her who she is. It didn’t bother me at all, and blended well with the story’s momentum.

The flashbacks are the heart and soul of who Yael is. We learn how she is able to take Adele Wolfe’s identity, and it’s because she can skin shift–a product of her childhood when she underwent experiments in a Nazi camp.

Intrigued yet? 😉 Well, I better not say anymore except that the ending is a huge twist I was not expecting! If you enjoy thrills, motorcycles, races, painful backstories, and mysteries, then I highly recommend you pick up a copy!

I give Wolf by Wolf 5/5 stars

Amazon / Goodreads

Be back this Friday for more Fishing For Answers! Don’t forget to click the “Follow” button to be notified of future blog posts.

Become one of my email reader peeps to get book news and exclusives first!
Social Connect: Goodreads Facebook / Tumblr / Google+ / Twitter

17 thoughts on “Wolf By Wolf, a Review of the #historicalfiction novel by #RyanGraudin

  1. OK. You loved Wolf By Wolf, Rebekah loved it, a couple of SF&F blogs I followed had high praise for it… and I could’ve sworn there was someone else who had good things to say about it, too. The point is, I clearly need to read this book soon, especially since its sequel is coming out in September. 😉 Great review, btw!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you liked my review, Faith! I enjoyed this book so much, I’m glad it shows in the review. It can be tricky writing reviews, at least for me. 🙂 You would love this book, I think. I keep hearing more and more people say how much they loved it!

      Like

  2. Hooray!! I’m so glad you enjoyed Wolf by Wolf (as you know how much I loved it). I actually got a copy of the ARC of the sequel at BEA, and I am basically forcing myself to be patient and finish the books I’m ALREADY reading first!!

    I love the point you made about the action in Wolf by Wolf – it’s much more understated and pivotal to the story than in an action movie, but you’re just as breathless about it. And wasn’t the ending twist surprising? I guessed/feared what would happen, but only just toward the actual event. And the whole story just felt so unique to me, you know – especially for current YA?

    Loved reading your review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I knew you’d be pleased! 😀 I’m so glad you introduced me to the series!
      The ending, ohmygoodness, I was like “whaaaat?!” Totally taken be surprise! Oh I bet you’re having a hard time not diving into the sequel now. I’m not sure if I could resist.
      Yes, it was very unique for YA, which I think is another reason I enjoyed it so much. And the writing itself had a different feel to it, as if it were written by a young Jew. Idk, it didn’t feel like there was an American author behind it, you know?
      Thank you for reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t read The Walled City yet, but I’d like to. I’m glad to know you loved it.
      Same here, I’m excited to see what else she’ll write in the future! I love her unique writing style.
      Thank you so much! I’m glad you enjoyed this review. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

