Loch Ness Monster the Scotland mystery #AtoZChallenge

Part of the A-to-Z blog challenge. My theme is legends and legendary creatures (both real and fiction). I hope you enjoy following along!

Loch Ness Monster

Loch Ness, Scotland, Scotland lake, lochs, water, Britain, legend, myth, castle, rainbow, cloudy, clouds, mustread, goodread, reading,

Loch Ness, home of Nessie

lake, scene, Scotland, Europe, bestread, what to read, reading, fantasy, YA, legends, fairy tale, new read, recent read,

Nessie, loch ness monster, Scotland, Lock Ness, castle, lake, Britain, Europe, legend, myth, folklore, storytelling, mustread, bestread, reading,

Every great lake has a monster legend. Nessie is one of those legends, and it’s said to inhabit Scotland’s deepest lake. But just as the Cat Sith was based on a real animal, the Kellas cat, many believe Nessie the monster is based on a real creature that once existed: the plesiosauria.

Plesiosauria, Loch Ness monster, Nessie, sea monster, sea creature, sea, ocean, lake monster, lake, loch, Scotland,

The question is: Do some plesiosauria still exist today, and is that the source of legends surrounding large, deep lakes, such as Loch Ness?

I have personally been to Loch Ness, twice, as a young tween, and rode the tourist boats across its deep waters. Let me tell you, that lake is beautifully eerie. The way shadows play across it, elongating, suddenly appearing and then vanishing, will make you believe something is down in the depths following you.

On my first boat ride, I could’ve promised you I saw something rise out of the water at the back of the tourist boat, briefly, and I ran screaming to my mom. I was ten years old at the time, and such old memories grow fuzzy, but I remember the intense feelings. Since then, I believe it’s possible there’s something (perhaps a few plesiosauria) dwelling in Loch Ness, as so many of the locals insisted. But, well, we need more evidence to prove it to the world. 😉

I found this fun website, if you’d like to explore more about Loch Ness’s Monster: http://www.nessie.co.uk/

Join us tomorrow in another mysterious legend! Don’t forget to click on the “Follow” button to be notified of new blog posts!

Read more about me, WIPs, and things not on the blog via my free mailing list. Connect with me on FacebookTumblr, Google+, and Twitter.

(credit: Art/photos/gifs belongs to their respective owners, not me. I make no profit from this.)

15 thoughts on “Loch Ness Monster the Scotland mystery #AtoZChallenge

    • I did! One of my fondest memories in Scotland. ❤ The second time was uneventful, but still beautiful and eerie as the first time. I kept my eyes peeled for any sort of movement, but sadly didn't see anything a second time.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I really want to believe that there’s something in Loch Ness. It’s so cool that you’ve been there, one day I plan to go, Preferably in the summer, when in theory it’s not so cold. 🙂 I echo Sara’s question, what happened on the second boat ride? Anything?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it was summer when we went. Good time to go. I can’t wait to hear about your trip there in the future! 🙂
      Nothing on the second boat ride, sadly, though I kept looking and looking. It was still very beautiful though, and there are old castle ruins on the shore that were fun to explore. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s so incredible that you’ve been to Loch Ness!! My pastor and his wife went there last year, and they actually said it’s very eerie as well. I know that it’s extremely deep and that there are a lot of caves under it, so it’s possible that *something* could live there.
    Which reminds me, did you ever see the movie “The Water Horse”? It was pretty cute. 🙂

    Like

  3. Loch Ness is on my list of places to go – lucky you for having been there twice! And I’m intrigued by what you saw the first time there.
    As you might be able to tell, I’m catching up on your A-Z posts – so many story ideas in there, aren’t there? Fascinating stuff 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

