Legends Theme, Part of the A-Z Challenge: Rabbit-Unicorn

myths, legends, creatures, monsters, storytelling, fairy tales, stories, dragons, eagles, China, Japan, America, Europe, Highlands, world myths, world legends, epic fantasy, high fantasy, young adult series, middle grade series,

This was a last minute decision, but I’m going to participate in the A-to-Z blog challenge this April! My theme is legends and legendary things. Every day (except Sundays) this month, a legend beginning with that day’s word will be featured here. I’ll keep these posts short and sweet. I hope you’ll enjoy following along! 🙂

Today is the letter “A”

Al-mi’raj

A mythical beast from Arabic poetry, said to live on a mysterious island called Jezîrat al-Tennyn within the confines of the Indian Ocean. It’s a large, harmless-looking yellow rabbit with a single, 2-foot-long black, spiraling horn protruding from its forehead, much like a unicorn. A rabbit-unicorn, you could say.

bunny unicorn, rabbit unicorn, al-mi'raj, legend, myth, animal, carrot, black, white,

No, more like this:

rabbit unicorn, al-mi'raj, bunny, unicorn, scary, wolves, horn, antlers, animals, battle, legend, myth, art,

Despite its docile appearance, Al-Mir’aj is a ferociously territorial predator known to be able to kill animals and people many times its size with a few stabs of its horn. It also has an immense appetite and can devour other living things several times its size without effort. (eek!)

I usually like rabbits and bunny-like animals, but I wouldn’t want to meet this one. 😉

If you would like to read more about me, WIPs, and things not on the blog, join my free mailing list. Connect with me on FacebookTumblr, Google+, and Twitter.

Information from: Wikipedia. Art credit: unita-n.deviantart.com/art/Al-Miraj-Ambush-332479209

15 thoughts on “Legends Theme, Part of the A-Z Challenge: Rabbit-Unicorn

    • Thank you, Solveig! I’m glad you like my theme. Exploring legends is one of my favorite hobbies, which helps with being a writer sometimes. 🙂 The B letter is a fun one! I think you’ll like it.

      Like

    • “The real thing” –You had me laughing! I didn’t even notice you used the word “real” until you pointed it out. I think I’ve been stuck in fantasy land too long, too. Our perception of reality is being influenced by our love of fantasy. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think it is. 🙂 I swear I live in half a fantasy world and half the real world most of the time. There’s no wonder people don’t know what I’m talking about sometimes… 🙂

        Like

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

