Haiku: Runaway & Caged

haiku, poem, poetry, fantasy, E Rawls

My haikus for RonovanWrites Weekly Haiku Challenge–a fun activity and contest that is open for everyone to participate, and helps keep our creative writer’s mind active! This week’s words are: Class & Firm.

*Note: Those of you who follow me on Twitter might have seen already, but I finished my WIP, V.Chronicles, 3rd draft last weekend! 😀 Stay tuned for a new Behind the Scenes post about it later this week!

“Runaway”
The bowstring strung firm
Knees gripping the horse, she aimed
For the classy thief.
~
“Caged”
It was a firm grip
The crown overshadowed him,
The price of high class.

© 2016 E. E. Rawls and Rawls E. Fantasy

Subscribe free to the Newsletter

How to read a haiku as 2 separate sentences:
Flower petals dance, Around reunited love,
Around reunited love, Flash flood emotions.

Connect with me on FacebookTumblr, Google+, and Twitter. If you would like to read more about me, WIPs, and things not on the blog, join my free monthly mailing list.

Fantasy-flavored poems, imaginative short stories, and tricky riddles:

Bleeding_Heart_Cover_for_Kindle

AMAZON  GOODREADS  B&N  SMASHWORDS
~~~

9 thoughts on “Haiku: Runaway & Caged

  1. I loved the first one! Somehow it reminded me of the scene in Ever After when Danielle throws apples at the prince for stealing one of her family’s horses. Although she’s not on a horse and aiming an arrow at him – but he sort of is a classy thief! *lol*

    The second one is good, too. There’s something thought-provoking about it, as if the narrator (or the newly crowned king / prince) is wondering whether the costs of wealth and status might be greater than the rewards. Interesting. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I loved Ever After. Probably my favorite movie retelling of Cinderella. So much humor in it; Danielle was the best!
      Yeah, the last one is a puzzle for me too. I like to imagine what story could lie behind it.
      I’m glad you liked them. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m getting a good visual from the first, a moment where action is about to happen, like something’s been paused. If that makes sense. And the second has weight to it, seriousness, and sadness as well, I think.

    Liked by 1 person

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

