Haiku: Away & Together

haiku, poem, poetry, fantasy, E Rawls

My haikus for RonovanWrites Weekly Haiku Challenge–a fun activity and contest that is open for everyone to participate, and helps keep our creative writer’s mind active! This week’s words are: Flash & Dance.

“Away”
Through clouds lightning flashed
Rain droplets dance to the earth,
Washing away pain.
~
“Together”
Flower petals dance
Around reunited love,
Flash flood emotions.

© 2016 E. E. Rawls and Rawls E. Fantasy

Subscribe free to the Newsletter

How to read a haiku as 2 separate sentences:
Flower petals dance, Around reunited love,
Around reunited love, Flash flood emotions.

Connect with me on FacebookTumblr, Google+, and Twitter. If you would like to read more about me, WIPs, and things not on the blog, join my free monthly mailing list.

Fantasy-flavored poems, imaginative short stories, and tricky riddles:

Bleeding_Heart_Cover_for_Kindle

AMAZON  GOODREADS  B&N  SMASHWORDS
~~~

7 thoughts on “Haiku: Away & Together

  1. I have to admit: When I first saw the challenge words, my mind immediately went to the Flashdance movie. *blushes*

    But I digress. Both of the haikus are lovely, but I especially like “Away.” The third line has an open-ended feel that could apply to either the earth (washing away the “pain,” or damage we’ve inflicted upon it) or us (an emotionally or spiritually cleansing rain). Or it could be both. That’s the neat thing about poetry – it’s often open to interpretation and can mean something different from one reader to the next.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I avoided using “dance” that way for that reason, haha! 😉
      I’m glad you liked Away! I liked leaving Away open-ended, because it really does feel like each of those meanings you mentioned. It can mean all things at once. Poetry is fun for that reason. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

