November Reminiscings 2015

How do I describe November? It was a frustrating time with edits, a confusing time with learning new technology of the modern TV (yes, you can laugh at me 😉 ), a depressing time as the days grow ever shorter and shorter towards winter, and a blessed time as Thanksgiving Day was shared with family and friends.

Here is a short overview of all that happened this November on the blog and offline—This post is also a part of the Monthly Wrap-up Round-up link up. 🙂

WRITING

WIP “V. Chronicles” Progress

Yes, this was a frustrating month for edits. In my previous round of edits, I did not do a very good job of fixing problems in chapter 7, and this left me with a lot of cleaning up to do once I reached it this month. What were the problems? Basically certain scenes not quite fitting in, and needing either to be changed or removed. Deciding how to go about doing that is what caused me the most frustration. If you like, I’ll discuss more about it in a Behind the Scenes post this month, and in the Newsletter. 🙂

The #BlogBattle

The blog series Madnes Solver has recently entered The Haunted Forest arc. If you haven’t read it yet, you can still catch up! A world of fantasy, steampunk, and mystery awaits…

To learn more about my WIP and other projects, follow the Newsletter.

BLOGGISH THINGS

Noteworthy and fun posts this month have been
The Emoji Book Tag
Interview with E. Rawls

Jurassic World Movie Review
Be Thankful Challenge

Haikus: A Turkey’s Plea & A Haiku Is…
Haikus: Shine On & Mist
Cursed Forest, Madnes Solver

Don’t forget to check out the Author/Writer Guide page, as I have now fixed all the links!

READING

I recently finished The Falconer. I’ll be posting a review of it some time this month! 🙂

MOVIES

Mockingjay Part 2 (Hunger Games)

This was a great finale to the series! From what I hear, it follows the book spot on–though I’ve never read it. The movie was filled with all the action and intensity that I’ve loved about the series, and that strong fighting spirit against oppression and tyranny.

Sad things did happen. People died and I felt it was a little cliche in some cases–not all cases, but there was one where it was very obvious to me from the start that a certain person would die.

The ending nicely caught me by surprise, though! And there was some unexpected happiness, which made for a perfect ending to an epic saga. I definitely recommend seeing it. Be prepared for non-stop action and many feels!

Did you see Mockingjay part 2? What did you think of it?

THINGS TO COME

I would like to start a Behind The Scenes post series for V. Chronicles: a post that will narrate my progress, show you how I edit, offer writing tips, and more. Hopefully it will begin this December, but we’ll see. 🙂

What would you like to see more of here on the blog? 🙂
I’d also like to know how your November went?

Connect with me on FacebookTumblr, Google+, and Twitter. If you would like to read more about me, WIPs, and things not on the blog, follow the monthly mailing list.

~~~

17 thoughts on “November Reminiscings 2015

  1. I’ve been frustrated with revisions lately, too. Mostly because it seems like I needed to add words instead of cut. :/ But not every revising session is a walk in the park, right? We’ll get through it, E. The frustration is only temporary. Just keep moving forward.

    Oooh, I like the idea for your Behind The Scenes series! Looking forward to reading that.

    The best way to describe my November is… nutty. *lol* My Time Flies post goes over it in more detail, but I can’t remember the last time I was so busy before Thanksgiving. Glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday, btw. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Sara! I’m glad you understand those writerly frustrations. It’s something only other fellow writers can understand. 🙂 Definitely was not a walk in the park this month, haha.
      Thanks! I hope your Thanksgiving was good too with the family and all. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay! I’m so glad you liked Mockingjay! And the Behind the Scenes posts seem fun! I totally get editing blues. XD I’m doing some editing hardcore come January! Happy slightly late Thanksgiving. ^ ^

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

      • It was indeed!

        I’ll be editing Red Hood. I’m currently rewriting the extended parts I’m doing of it. Then I’ll be editing those and mending some inconsistency with the addition of the new material.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m thankful for this positive review you have for Mockingkjay, E. Rawls. Most I’ve read are leaning towards hating it bc of those deaths. I read the book (though I only remembered the significant ones since it’s been a long time) and I kind felt sad how it ended but yeah, it was definitely a surprise!
    And I’m happy you had such a great Thanksging. Next thing you know, it’s Christmas already. Gahh 2015 flies so fast!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Have you written a review for the book Mockingjay? I’ve never read the book, so I’m not sure how it compares to the movie, I’m curious. I admit I didn’t like the deaths of some of the characters, and one felt too predictable for me, but I try to push that aside and see the story as a whole and how it completes the Hunger Games saga. I feel it did a good job of that. 🙂 Did you see the movie yet?

      Like

  4. Ooooh revisions. There are reasons why I’ve written drafts of 9+ novels, but only completed total revisions on one . . . Basically, revising a book is harder than writing it. But you can do it!!

    I’m looking forward to this behind the scenes series too 🙂

    I liked the Mockingjay movie, but not the book, so there. I DID feel like the movie was a little jarring though (splitting movies into halves doesn’t really work for me)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, that’s the feeling exactly! So much easier to keep writing than stop and revise over and over and over… I’m trying to make it through, I really am!! *determined face*
      I’m glad you liked the movie too! I know what you mean, it was a challenge remembering where the 1st half ended and what all had happened–at least for me it was. Splitting movies in half is like that, but I’m not sure how else they could’ve handled it…I don’t know. So much feels! 😀

      Like

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

