Antman Review! @Marvel #antman #moviereview

Antman

A Marvel Film, based on the comic book series

My Rating: 5/5 stars

Summary: Forced out of his own company by former protégé Darren Cross, Dr. Hank Pym (Michael Douglas) recruits the talents of Scott Lang (Paul Rudd), a master thief just released from prison. Lang becomes Ant-Man, trained by Pym and armed with a suit that allows him to shrink in size, possess superhuman strength and control an army of ants. The miniature hero must use his new skills to prevent Cross, also known as Yellowjacket, from perfecting the same technology and using it as a weapon for evil.
Release date: July 17, 2015 (USA)
Director: Peyton Reed

I went into this movie knowing nothing of the comic book series, or even reading reviews. I watched the trailers, they made me laugh, and it’s by Marvel–that was enough to convince me I had to see this. And I’m glad I did! The humor was good and clean, the plot fun and interesting, and the action was appropriate–not the constant beating, fighting, running, that after a while grows dull. No, this movie’s action was thoroughly entertaining!

Characters: 5/5 stars.

The main characters, Dr. Hank and Scott Lang made a very enjoyable and humorous team. Hank is the science genius, and is surpisingly witty and tough–he delt quite a punch to his “enemy,” despite his age; there’s nothing frail about him!

Scott Lang begins the story as a skilled thief, and a funny one. After being released from jail, he wants to change his life, but things go down hill and he finds himself in need of cash. His Spanish friend (who has such a fun accent, btw) begs him to help with another “job” and he finally caves in and decides to help out one more time… Well, I’m not going to ruin the story for you, but when Hank offers Scott a different life, as the Antman, Scott grows as a person and gradually becomes the hero we’ve been waiting for him to become–and a funny one, at that. 🙂

The leading lady, Hope van Dyne, was also good. Not my favorite, but still good. I could feel her pain and want to be of use. Especially with what happened to her mother, and her father being too controlling.

Plot: 5/5 stars.

I really enjoyed the plot. I wouldn’t say it was an all original story line–some things you could see coming from a mile away–but the way in which the plot was carried out was highly entertaining. And the final, full-on battle at the climax? It was a new kind of epic battle, like no other! Lol, it was brilliant and I couldn’t stop laughing!

Overall: I highly recommend it for those who like good humor, witty action, and fun banter, and for every Marvel fan out there.

*A note to readers: the “V. Chronicles” blurb is out, posted Friday, go check it out and let us know what you think!

Connect with me on FacebookTumblr, Google+, and Twitter. If you would like to read more about me, WIPs, and things not on the blog, follow my monthly mailing list.

10 thoughts on “Antman Review! @Marvel #antman #moviereview

  1. Good review. Antman isn’t a superhero I’m very familiar with, but I thought, his alter-ego was Hank Pym. Am I confused? This is a film I want to see at some point in the future. But there are many Marvel films I haven’t seen that are in the queue. I don’t get many films watched, unfortunately.

    Liked by 1 person

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

