Voting and Updates!

elf, half elf, updates

No, there wasn’t much fun in the sun for this author, haha; July rushed by, I blinked and it was gone, but I do have an exciting announcement! Also, this post is part of the Monthly Wrap-up Round-up. 🙂

Writing

WIP Progress

Here is the exciting news! I now have a working title for Book 1 in the V. Chronicles series! It’s not in cement yet, and I’m still contemplating if people will like it or not, so I’m going to announce the title to you here and listen to your feedback! Please tell me and vote honestly what you think of it. If you hate it, or think I should try again, say so. I value your opinion! Okay, here goes… *drum roll*

The working title is…

The Vermillion Elf

Scratching that off now, as the majority of votes don’t agree with the title. And, honestly, now that I’ve taken more time to think about it, this title is not only difficult to remember, but also sounds a bit boring. So, I will be brainstorming for better and more entertaining titles! Stay tuned. 😉

I’d also love to hear from you in the comments!

The #BlogBattle

The blog series Madnes Solver is on its 13th chapter now. If you haven’t read it yet, you can easily catch up! Things are becoming more complicated for our Madnes Hatter as he strives to be the mediator and case solver between worlds…

My blog’s 1 year Blogoversary was this month!

Happy birthday, blog. 🙂 If you missed the celebration, take a look at the character spotlight and riddle posts.

New on the Blog

For Writers page is up and full of great writing and marketing articles, tips and guides!

V. Chronicles category. Where you can find every post on the blog pertaining to the novel series.

Reading

Going Postal, almost finished! A fun read, though there is some pg-13 language use. But other than that, it’s witty, mysterious, and full of entertainment.

The Iron King, a fey story. But it contains some stronger language use and some sensual scenes. Otherwise, a high fantasy ride.

I’ll be posting book reviews for Storm Siren and Going Postal, hopefully this month, stay tuned!

Movies

I saw Antman! And yes, I definitely recommend it!! The humor is great fun, and the story enjoyable. I will be posting a review about it, along with some other movie reviews, like Jurassic World. 🙂

Things to Come

More exciting news! On the 28th of August, I will be interviewed at Brains to Books. I’ll let you know more as the date draws near. I hope to have your support. It’s you that will make this interview worthwhile. 🙂

If you would like to read more about me, WIPs and things not on the blog, follow my monthly mailing list.

27 thoughts on “Voting and Updates!

  1. I don’t think I’d pick up or click on a book with that title. I don’t know why exactly… maybe it’s the combination of Vermillion and Elf? I like the word Elf, and I like the word Vermillion. I think I’d even like it more if “The” was removed, and it was just: Vermillion Elf. Actually, that’s pretty sweet. The alliteration is quite nice, and the article was just clogging it up a little. Also, I looked up Vermillion because I realized it’s a color I always “hear about” but never thought to identify. I can see where you got it–very nice. You learn something new every day!

    Side note: Love the way your site looks! You chose a beautiful layout, readable font families, and welcoming colors. It’s a little easier to navigate as well.

    Also, I haven’t seen Ant-man yet! I hear it’s very very good.
    And Going Postal is definitely in my top three favorites of all time. That book makes me laugh my head off!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I realize what you mean about the title, now that I’ve had more time to think about it, and I’ve come up with some new titles I think sound far more appealing. I’ll do another post and vote poll soon! 🙂
      Yay, I’m glad you like the site! It’s the free version, so I can’t make everything as perfect as I’d like it to be, but I’m open to any suggestions to improve navigating you might have.
      Antman is a must seeee!
      I’m glad you loved that book too, it’s hilarious! XD

      Like

  2. When I saw your frontispiece my first though was ” That is beautiful!!” my second thought was ” It would be really easy for an assassin to get in there” 🙂
    I thought the main thought in the title was good but the word vermillion seemed a little overdone or something. Maybe The Scarlet Elf?

    Liked by 1 person

    • There’s actually a long drop down from where I cropped the castle photo, so that assassin just might go a falling and a tumbling down into a moat. 😀 That would be fun to try though, if I were a secret assassin I mean, hehehe. 😉
      The Scarlet Elf has crossed my mind. Here’s my dilemma: every book in the V. Chronicles series has to have one word that begins with the letter V. Or at least that’s what I’m aiming/hoping to do…

      Like

  3. I look forward to reading your movie reviews! I have yet to see Antman but I think I’ll wait for your review to come out.

    I figured Jurassic World was safe to watch with others in my life because the worst offender would fly completely over their heads. Impressive movie if not for one rude remark. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sweet, Antman will be the first I review this month! I’ll try to do that this weekend, if time allows.
      Jurassic World was good and the CGI cool. I think I liked the 2nd movie best though, character-wise, and all that classic running through the jungle. 🙂

      Like

  4. Hmm, V words . . . Vandals, Vagrant, Vivacious, Virtuous, Vitriol, Vent, Vagabond, Vapid, Villainous, don’t even get me started on that fabulous underappreciated letter.

    ANT MAN! After Avengers and Winter Soldier, probably my favorite Marvel movie. Humor, heart, plot, characters, and more humor. And Thomas the Train! And I loved how self-aware it was. I also really liked Jurassic World (a.k.a Chris Pratt as Indiana Jones with Dinosaurs) and the new Mission Impossible.

    Titles are *hard* aren’t they? I have spent years of agony over them (for real). And they often sound so corny or unwieldy – I feel your frustration. Good luck!

    Great update, and I look forward to more 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, I’ll add those V words to my growing list! It’s a fab underappreciated letter, I agree!
      Major LOL at the Train! XD The humor in Antman was epic!! 😀
      I’m glad you understand my pain, Rebekah. Titles are among the hardest book things, it’s the first thing people see other than the cover, eep!
      I’ll be posting the book blurb today! 😀 Let me know what you think. 🙂

      Like

  5. Sorry I didn’t answer, didn’t check the comments for a while. Anyhoo, I found an amazing sight! It’s called phrontistery.info and I found a HUGE list of V words but two sounded cool. There was a shortening of vermillion , vermeil, it’s kind of a silvery red, and the other word was vila, kinda’ like a European nymph. Hope I’ve helped a bit and for the record if the whole title The Vermillion Elf didn’t catch me the Elf part would have me like a shot. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oooh! I’m going to add those words to my V list, and hop on over to that site! Thanks, Chesshire!! Whether I use them for book 1 or not, I might for the other books in the series, so I really appreciate it. 🙂 This Friday I’m going to post my revised book blurb, I’d love to hear your opinion on it too!

      Like

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

