Can You Solve This Riddle?

Happy New Year, 2017, 2016, new year, resolutions, fireworks, author blog, storytelling, must read, good read, poem, poetry, micro fiction, flash fiction, YA, MG, books, fantasy books, SFF books,

To continue celebrating today’s Blogoversary, here is a riddle for you to solve, provided via the poetry book “Bleeding Heart”:

And check out the Beautiful People post, also in celebration!

(Answer: Scroll down to the bottom of the comments to read the “answer” 🙂 )

Bright to behold, but giving light I cannot.

Looking warm to the eye, yet cool to the touch.

Seeming as the brilliant sun above in its glory,

But I am wrenched from that limitless sky’s story.

Unlike the sun, I am grounded below in Its shadow,

To ebb and fade, molting white into the likeness low

Of a small pearly moon—feathery to your hand’s touch,

For the short time before wisps of air carry me in a rush

Off through the currents—to where, I have no control

Until I die to live again, reborn in my new knoll,

And once more shine my lightless brilliance

Across the earth…I am limitless.

What am I?

It’s a tough one. 🙂 Can you guess the answer? Place your answer in the comments or #bleedingheartriddle, and by 11:00 pm (Eastern time zone) I will give you the answer in this post’s comments and announce who guessed right! So, be sure and check back here at 11:00 pm Eastern time. 🙂 While you’re here, take a peek at the new Beautiful People post 10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_n[1]

The Riddle Answer is at the end of the comments section.

Bleeding Heart: Amazon  Goodreads  More

Follow the Newsletter

rawlseIMG_4467

© 2015 E. Rawls and Rawls E. Fantasy, All rights reserved.

22 thoughts on “Can You Solve This Riddle?

  1. Hmmmmm… Part of me thinks it’s something physical. The first thing that came to mind was a firefly, but I doubt that’s it… Because the other part thinks it’s something abstract or intangible. Like a hope or a wish. So that’s my answer: a wish.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The first half made me think of gold, until it got to the feathery part.

    It could be a reflection of light on water, but again the feathery part is a problem.

    I’m thinking dandelions, which sprout gold, then turn into those white wispy…thingies, and then the wind blows away the seeds, which take root and grow new flowers.

    Liked by 2 people

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

