A Half Elf’s Updates: May 2015

I’ll be posting monthly updates from now on under “A Dreamer’s Updates.” If you would like to read more about me, WIPs and things not on the blog, see my monthly mailing list.

Time has flown by! I can’t believe it’s June already. I thought there was more time to get things done before full summer arrived, but I was oh so very wrong, hehe. For instance, I thought my WIP’s Draft #2 would be done by now, and that I’d be half-way through Draft #3! But instead…well, you can read about it further in this post. I changed the blog’s background. I hope you all like it. 🙂 The blog might go under a few more changes, but I’m not sure. I can’t decide yet if I should change themes or not… Okay, now to sum up the month of May 2015, and what the future plans are so far.

Short story series: For a while I’ve been interested in the genre known as steampunk, though I didn’t have the time or motivation to plunge into writing anything in it until I joined the #BlogBattle (a weekly, fun short story challenge). With my mind’s wheels turning thinking up new stories, I thought: “hey, why not give this new genre a try, and put my own twist to it while I’m at it?”

I haven’t yet read any books in steampunk, but I hope to change that soon. What first drew me to this genre was the style and artwork associated with it. I find a world with airships, robotics, and steam-powered things fascinating. A friend of mine read the steampunk book “Leviathan” and recommends it, so I will hopefully get to reading that this year, and any that you would like to suggest to me. In the meantime, I’ve researched up on the genre a bit.

Madnes Solver is steampunk equipment-wise, in that there are airships, steam cars, steam locomotives, and robotic things and gadgets. It has Victorian qualities as far as clothing styles and architecture is concerned, and modern day qualities in the way people speak, think, and live life. All of it is plopped down into one island, whose name resembles the Japanese island Okinawa. And it’s mysteriously connected to the world of fantasy known as Wonderland. If you haven’t read the series yet, you have plenty of time to catch up on chapters here!

My WIP: The series I’m writing/editing is called V Chronicles. It isn’t easy to explain or even put inside a single genre, but for the most part it’s a high fantasy, European-ish story about perseverance, survival and friendship while facing an ancient past come to life. But there’s so much more to it than that. And yes, there are elves, goblins, fairies, dragons, and my own created races! Heavy influences for writing it have been Tolkien’s work and my years growing up in Europe. I am working to come up with a good book summary. Once it’s ready, I’ll post it on the blog for you to give your opinion and feedback. It’s a detailed world and a huge undertaking. I will probably focus much of my writing career in its world.

If you would like to take a peek into this world, the Clover short stories are somewhat of a prequel to the V Chronicles series. I’ll be continuing Clover’s story under a new title “The Fairy, the Hunter, and the Quest for Fhern” later this year! Find Clover’s current stories here.

My current WIP progress: Book 1, Draft #2 is almost complete! I am 40 pages away from finishing. I’m very excited about that! But like I mentioned earlier, I expected to be much further along in this than I currently am, *sigh* *huff* I’ll go into more detail in the newsletter I will send out soon. If you haven’t signed up yet, you can do so here.

On the Blog: These past two months I’ve been focusing on short stories for the #BlogBattle and the weekly haiku challenge, and Fishing for Answers. But I still have more writing tips to give, some interesting information about weapons and how to use them in your story, and other fun things. Editing has really been sapping away time, but I will add posts here and there when I have time to. Keep in touch so you don’t miss them! 🙂 I also plan to blog more about V Chronicles once I’m into Draft #3. And I have some fun Awards and challenges still to get to.

Movies: I saw Age of Ultron. I liked seeing the characters again (Thor, who couldn’t be happy about that? 😉 ), and their banter, but for me there was a bit too much action and not enough character development and time to get into characters’ lives. I understand that they didn’t have enough time, what with the story and new characters joining the crew and all though. I also rented Jupiter Ascending. I thought the overall story had potential, and a part of me did like the movie, but I feel like parts were a little rushed. Still, I liked it, though I wouldn’t say loved it. I also saw Unbroken for the first time! And ohhh, I loved it so much!! I used to speak Italian, so it was fun hearing Louis’ family speaking in Italian without having to read the captions. I don’t dare read the book, at least not yet, because I’ve heard the book is very graphic and the torture is brutal and gruesome. My heart goes out to him for all that he endured and went through.

That about summarizes what’s been going on. The weather has been going back and forth between warm and cold, so I don’t always get to sit out on the porch and work on my WIP in the warm sunlight like I would like to. But hopefully it will heat up, and I can go back to sipping iced coffee–one of my fave ways to drink coffee. 🙂

What steampunk novels have you read or are planning to read that you would recommend? How are your current WIPs coming along so far? See any good movies? Share in the comments. 🙂

12 thoughts on “A Half Elf’s Updates: May 2015

  1. Oh, wow, you’re almost done with revising Draft #2? 😀 Keep it up, Elizabeth! Even though you may have been frustrated with things recently, you must feel good that you’re closing in on the end.

    I haven’t read much steampunk myself. A few books in my TBR are steampunks, though. Would you like the authors and titles? I can’t vouch for whether they’re good, bad, or otherwise yet, but it would be a start…

    I think we traded opinions about Age Of Ultron on my recent Time Flies, but yeah, I didn’t care for it either. Way too many characters and way too much crammed into 2 hours and 15 minutes. I’m not excited for the Infinity Wars, to be honest…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Sara! I do feel glad about Draft 2, but at the same time I’m anxious to begin Draft 3–eep!
      Sure, name some that have mostly good reviews and I’ll check them out!
      Yeah I’m hoping for the best for Infinity Wars, but…I guess we’ll find out.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I may not even stay onboard for Infinity Wars… I might just catch the last Thor and Captain America films, as well as GotG 2, and call it quits. :S

        Here are the three on my list. All of them seem to have gotten pretty good responses, and the last one was nominated for the Nebula Award:

        – STORMDANCER by Jay Kristoff (set in an alternate feudal Japan, with mythical creatures as well as steampunk)
        – THE FALCONER by Elizabeth May (steampunk set in 1800s Scotland)
        – IRONSKIN (steampunk / fantasy retelling of Jane Eyre, with Fey characters)

        Like

  2. I’m looking forward to a synopsis of V Chronicles. 🙂 I haven’t read much steampunk, I think the closest I’ve come is the Spiritwalker series by Kate Elliott. I really enjoyed those books. It’s a genre would like to read more in. Who’s the author of Leviathan?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Writing never goes according to plan. Congrats on getting something done. It’s hard to write steam punk because it can easily feel thrown together. (Does that make sense?) I’ve heard good things about Leviathan. I recently read Miss Hyde and that was good. The Shadow Revolution was better but less heavy on steam punk. (And a little too gruesome for me) Cassandra Clares Infernal Devices is considered steampunk too. Good luck with your writing!

    Like

    • Thanks, Molly! Yes I get what you mean about steampunk. That’s why I’m only writing short stories for steampunk, not a novel. My novel is high fantasy, which is what I’m more comfortable with. 🙂 Oh I think I’ll check out Infernal Devices next; I didn’t know it was steampunk.

      Liked by 1 person

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

