The Reader Problems Tag

reader-problems-tag[1]

A big thank you to Sara Letourneau for tagging me for this fun blog hop! I’m finally getting around to doing it, yes! I’ve been so wrapped up in editing and stuff that blog challenges fell to the side of my “to do” pile (eep!), but now I am going through them, and it’s so much fun! I’m very happy to have been tagged. 😀 Now, onward we go to the questions!

Q: You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

Oh my goodness, I would fall over and die if I let myself get that overwhelmed! First off, I would try to go through the list before it grew to that size. But choosing which to read next isn’t easy, and I find myself browsing through my huge list several times, reading the blurbs and reminding myself what each book was about, before I finally narrow down my search. Any book that has fantasy, or takes place in another world, and has intrigue or mystery will be more likely to be my next read.

Q: You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

I used to be a dedicated “finish what you started reading” person, but after having some eye problems and a limited amount of reading time I became the opposite. If I hate the book it is gone for good, but if a part of me is still curious I’ll keep it around for a later date after I’ve read the books I truly enjoy.

Q: The end of the year is coming and you’re so close yet so far away on your GoodReads challenge. Do you quit or commit?

For the same reasons said above I could never survive a Goodreads challenge, lol. However, I admire those people who can; I think it’s great! I’m a very slow reader, so I do my best with what I’ve got. Maybe I’ll set a new record for myself this year? Here’s hoping! 😀

Q: The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?

I do like having a series either in all paperback or all hardback, but if I can’t, then I can’t. I’m not too fussy, but I admit it is more pretty when they do all match. 🙂

Q: Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

Haha, I would come online and talk to all you lovelies about it until I found some who shared in my opinion. 🙂 Even if most people I know like a book, it won’t change my feelings about it, but it will make me wonder what was so appealing to them about that book, and if there’s something I could learn from it as an author. Authors want to appeal to their audience, after all.

Q: You’re reading a book and you’re about start crying in public. How do you deal?

I manage to keep most emotions in check while reading in public, but if something happened to my fave character and I felt tears coming, I would rush off to the bathroom and hide until I could calm myself down. Then I would be mad at the author for what they did, lol. 😉

Q: A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a summary on GoodReads? Cry in frustration?

No time for re-reading, so I would look on Goodreads, and at other people’s review of the first book, to remember what all happened. That’s usually all it takes, and then I remember the details I’d forgotten.

Q: You don’t want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people “nope” when they ask?

Eep, this is a dilemma… Most of the people I know do not take good care of books, and if I lend them mine, I fear they would come back a mess. If I owned the book they wanted to read I would keep quiet about it, and just suggest that they find it at the library or a local bookstore. They’d be supporting the community by doing so, anyway. 😉

Q: You’ve picked up and put down five different books in the past month. How do you get over the reading slump?

Ain’t nobody got time for “reading slumps”! 😉 This is why I read 2 or 3 books at once. If one reaches a boring point, or I’m just tired of the same plot and characters, I switch over to the other book. Soon I will be ready to go back to the first. It’s just how my brain works. I need reading diversity, I guess?

Q: There are so many new books coming out that you are dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

I wish I could buy them all!!! But realistically I couldn’t. I would keep an eye out like a hawk though in any and every place selling books, and watch the prices on Amazon. Any I couldn’t get to will be on my birthday or Christmas list that year. 🙂

Q: After you’ve bought a new book you want to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until you actually read them?

Hopefully not too long, unless I’m busy with another great book. But since I go back and forth between books a lot, it would probably be added to what I was already reading. That way I could begin right away!

Time to Nominate!

Here are my nominees for the Reader Problems Tag. If you don’t normally participate in tags or blog hops, or you don’t have time to, that’s perfectly fine. 🙂 If you weren’t nominated but would like to join in, please feel free to! Just link your post to mine so we can all read it and enjoy.

Rachael Ritchey

Blondewritemore

Claire M. Banschbach

Galit

Kima Prince

Chic Prune (IndianMacgyver)

Phoenixgrey85

Candice Coates at I Came for the Soup


Thank you for reading, and please sign up for the newsletter, and “follow” the blog for posts and stories to come! Also find E.Rawls on Facebook,Tumblr, Google+, andTwitter. 🙂

(Any adds are by wordpress, not me, in exchange for using this sight free. I can’t afford a monthly fee at the moment.)

16 thoughts on “The Reader Problems Tag

  1. Thank you for the nomination. I am looking forward to answering the questions. I’ve got a couple of awards piled up, so I really need to get all these done. I’ve just decided that this will be my new mission for the next few weeks. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great answers, E.! I admire and envy you for being able to read multiple books at once. I’ve tried it before, and my brain doesn’t handle it very well. *lol*

    And I wish I could buy all the books I want in one fell swoop, too! But that’s not possible in regards to time or budget.

    Btw, LOVE your new background image!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think most people don’t read several at once, I’m just different like that. 😀 Thank you, I’m so glad you like the background! It’s Asian themed. I would love to go there some day.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. well since you asked so nicely i’ll definitely write along. though to be honest i’m not sure my answers will be worth reading.

    i’ve never done one of these types of posts but since we’re attached at the funny bone and i’ll give it a go.

    Liked by 1 person

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

