Write the Hard Stuff: Part 1

rawls e fantasy, elf, fantasy girl, castle, gold, dream, magic

Write the Hard Stuff: Part 1

It sounds like a lot of work, right? It is, and in the end it’s worth it! But let me begin by explaining what “writing the hard stuff” means: It’s that which adds depth to your story and gets people engaged.

Writing Fresh:
Avoiding the cliché phrases, expressions and descriptions.

Subtext:
The “what is said, but not said”; reading between the lines. The “show” us, don’t “tell” us.

In this Part 1, let’s talk about “Writing Fresh.”

What does it mean to write fresh? It means avoiding clichés. The overused facial expressions, gestures, and descriptions we are all so familiar with. The nod, eyes narrowing, glare, sigh, smile, frown, he felt happy, she was sad, etc…

Why should you try to avoid these, when so many other authors are using them? Because (as Margie Lawson’s post on Writers in the Storm Blog discusses) we have become so used to these cliché phrases that our eyes and mind easily skim over them.

“Clichés are invitations to skim read.”

Do you want your reader skim reading? I’m assuming the answer is “No.” After all, it may lead to them skim reading through much of the story, and fast lose interest. They might awake from the story’s world and begin thinking of their own real world. Defeating the purpose of a story—the purpose to take us some place other than here.

What effect does avoiding clichés have on the reader?

It keeps them from getting bored. It engages; it gets them involved in the story. You want to involve the reader by keeping them thinking and imagining. You make them work a little—however, there’s no need to go overboard, either; balance it. Let me give you an example. Here is a cliché phrase:

“He smiled.”

Okay, yeah, we know what a smile is; it doesn’t take any work at all to picture or imagine. But because it doesn’t take any work or thought for the reader, this “smile” is just a “smile.” Nothing more. I skim over it. My mind wanders away from the story and this character who is smiling. However,

“The edges of his lips turned up.”

Ooh. That’s different. As a reader, I’m actually taking the time to picture that in my head, and it’s entertaining. It’s keeping me guessing a bit, too. I want to read on. I want to know more! See what just happened in the reader’s mind?

“His eyes narrowed.”
vs
“His eyelids lowered into suspicious slits.”

The reader is seeing and imagining; their mind is working to picture and feel that imagery.

Now, I am NOT saying you should never use clichés. Many of the pros use them, and I myself do too. But it’s important not to constantly use them.

If I keep writing “he smiled”, “she smiled”, “they both smiled”, after a while the readers are going to groan and their minds will wander elsewhere away from the book, bored.

It’s good to change things up as much as possible. Whenever you can “write it fresh,” go ahead! Go for it! And when you can’t, that’s fine. This is a balancing act: Use too many clichés and readers get bored, but use too much fresh writing and it might slow the story’s pace. Writing fresh is mastered with time and patience, and the balance between fresh and cliché is learned with practice. It helps to read books published by authors who practice these in their writing—to give you more of a feel for it.

Crafting imagery through words and making what we write interesting for readers is something that we authors and writers continue to work on and develop throughout our writing career. Be encouraged, and don’t feel overwhelmed. The more you practice, the easier it’ll become to write fresh, and the stronger your writing will be!

~Happy writing, friends


If you liked this post, please “follow” my blog for more, and join the monthly Newsletter. Don’t forget to check out the FB page and Tumblr page. Check the side bar for more social links.

Write the Hard Stuff: Part 2

6 thoughts on “Write the Hard Stuff: Part 1

  1. Ooh, very helpful. When you mentioned the difference between “he smiled” and “the edges of his lips turned up” the visual in my head was totally different. I immediately pictured someone smiling in the second one, whereas in the first I didn’t. So cool!
    Though I will say that sometimes cliché sentences can be a good thing. A person doesn’t want to bog their reader down with too many descriptions, right? But overall I would definitely agree that cliché sentences don’t add a lot to the story. 😀
    Thanks for this post! It was really helpful. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, too much description can bog the story down. That’s why I said it’s still good to use cliches 🙂 It’s a balancing act; not too much of either. If you want, you can click on the post I linked to for more info on the topic 🙂

      Like

  2. Good suggestions, Elizabeth! I already know I’ve got a few (no, more like a lot) cliches and overused statements in my WIP. But I’m reminding myself not to worry about them now for Draft #1, and to fix them when I’m revising for Draft #2. So I think the above is good advice not only for writing, but for revising as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Sara! Yes, and I thought about mentioning that, but I didn’t want to make my post overly long 🙂 Yes, I would not worry at all during draft #1. My rough drafts have plenty of cliches too, hehe. Writing fresh is great once it comes down to the “revising stage.” Like I said above, it’s a balancing act. Not everything has to be “fresh writing,” but it can make parts of a story more interesting to read 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

