A Fairy’s Longing

art Nene Thomas

“A Fairy’s Longing”

Dusk turns to night,
I open crystal wings;
Fireflies glide above
A flowing, glowing stream.

I hear the flutes of elves
And see the dancing fauns,
But it’s up in the sky
Where I want to belong.

I gaze up at the night,
Luminous silver cascading down,
That black velvety cloak
Holding the Moon like a crown.

So far yet so close
That dream-world of the Moon.
Ever present, ever white,
I dance its’ soft lullaby tune…

~It twirls and sways, like reeds in the wind,
Around the earth’s spin, its’ flow never pinned~

All night dancing away in Its’ pure-white glory…
But daylight soon dawns, the end of the Night’s story;
And once more I go hide—to sleep the day through,
Awaiting the soft, gray curtains of Dusk to bloom~
The forlorn lullaby of the Pearl in the sky’s song
Running through my mind~~a mysterious summon gong
Visions of what’s out there, and what lies beyond…
As I dream ever more of the worlds
Of the Moon.

~Excerpt from “Bleeding Heart”

Paperback: Amazon Ebook: Smashwords  Kobo  B&N  Half.com

Sign Up for the Newsletter 
Share a comment, thought, or idea! We'd love to hear it.

